Tall Teasel Plant Takeover- Part 1

in #nature5 years ago

These Teasel plants are definitely taking over this field. They start out bright green and the small white flowers bloom July through September. They are an invasive plant from Europe and parts of Asia, which came to North America in the 18th century.

The prickly, strong stems can grow up to 8 feet tall and have branches on the top part of the plant.

The flowers grow in rings around the cone and each cone can have 250-1500 individual tube-shaped flowers.

Thanks for stooping by. Be sure to stay tuned for more photos and information about these teasel plants.

Information Source: softschools.com

Image Source: All photos are my own.

Sort:  

Congratulations @whatisnew! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 7500 replies. Your next target is to reach 7750 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

It's beautiful. Congratulation for this photos.

Thanks for your compliment and for stopping by! : )

Teasel plants?? What the Samhill is THAT? Wild looking things, must be found far from Texas, we don't have such strange looking things down here!

HaHa! What the Samhill! LOL! They are all over the USA but I read that they are mostly in the northern states.

I knew it. We don't allow such strange looking plants to grow around here, we'd have to blown them away with a shotgun.

LOL! You would have to blow them away at the massive taproot to kill them. Wait until you see what these plants look like when they are dead. To see them all together in a field, it looks spooky.

howdy one last time (tonight) Butterfly! well it would take alot to scare me with plants but I hope you get some good pictures of that!

I think you should make a book out of your posts. The pictures and the commentary are really spectacular. I've seen these plants, of course, but never paid them the attention they warrant.

You are always full of encouragement and I thank you for that @agmoore but no book is in the works. My pictures are no where near the perfection that is seen here on Steemit and in books. I am just having fun and hoping others will learn something from my posts. Thanks again, my friend. : )

Can you believe the money some people make selling these these teasels?

http://www.oardc.ohio-state.edu/weedguide/single_weed.php?id=98

I did read about that a while back. It is crazy. I think I should start selling them. : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57500.86
ETH 2337.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36