Foxtrott

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

A day in the Hanság around Rábca at Fertö-Hanság Nemzeti Park

Last weekend we made a trip to the Hungarian area of the Nationalpark Neusiedlersee Seewinkel - Fertö-Hanság Nemzeti Park.
The landscape and nature there seemed more wild and pristine to us than in Austria.
For us as adults the roads and little villages on our trip were like an unexpectedly recreative time laps into the 70s, for our ten year old son it was a new experience - narrow roads without leading lines, some in really bad condition, a lot of older cars (like ours), closed supermarkets after midday...
We went by car to a parking spot near Nyirkai-Hany, a wetland-renaturation-area and then moved on wandering along a gravel path. To our left we saw a lake with summer cottages, to our right the Rábca (Rabnitz) river and the wetlands.

Weather was not the best this Saturday. It was grey and cloudy, fresh wind was blowing, the first day this summer that we needed long sleeves sweaters and every than and now some raindrops kept falling down our heads. But we enjoyed the fresh autumnal air after more than two hot and dry summer months.

We love weeping willows and were pleased about those old trees that bordered the path along the lakeside.
Swallows danced with the wind hunting for insects over the water surface. Fish were jumping.
Then we heard a loud cackling - hundreds of grey geese meet there in the marshland. Noisily flocks of geese flew a few meters over our heads and crossed the sky.

F54C0EAC-F54D-4DD5-9A58-1A7CCAAD1E0B.jpeg

7DB092D0-8042-40F0-9ED0-DF043900714B.jpeg

0B090A85-EB25-4581-8F0D-DBEC7884455F.jpeg

0CC617AF-218B-4AF0-B7C6-BD9900D35364.jpeg

We saw great white egrets, sea ravens (cormorants), grey herons, black crowned night herons, black-tailed godwits and so many more through the bushes and from the observation point at the end of the road.
What an experience!

FDF4ED02-2CBD-40AA-9F42-BD7B31AF6FD9.jpeg

Binoculars are essential for obversation and birding. We have two, a bigger and a small one. So I used my camera with the 300mm Sigma - not the best for wild animal photography, but most of the time I use it while scouting in our forest, where the most animals are familiar to me and where I can creep up on most of them close enough for good focus and pictures. But from the observation tower and with cloudy light my camera reaches its limits.

8988665E-B1A8-4183-A7B6-734EE48C8668.jpeg

50047299-3E42-4BD2-85C6-B4561245FA49.jpeg

D7BF95FC-0D37-41D5-B361-C0AE33DFD68A.jpeg

So we got down the tower and walked on along the path between Rábca and wetland to get a better view to the lakes and the birds. On our way we met a couple of very friendly fishermen sitting on the riverside, one talking to us in German about the beauty of his land.

85420823-0D36-4941-ABAA-8C1EDFCA4336.jpeg

A18F9630-DD27-42F8-9820-4D67A3A95682.jpeg

We went on birding but became hungry for lunch so we decided to turn around and get back to our car while our son started to discuss with us about watching animals on tv versus real nature adventures. I really got annoyed about this discussion and went on with larger steps to come away a bit.

Suddenly I discovered something hairy red and black flitting into the bushes and the long grass along the wetland in about fifty meters distance.
It only was a glimpse I caught, but I was pretty sure it was a fox.
I love foxes but rarely see one so I was more than excited.
I ducked at the path side and with my hands I suggested to do the same to my husband and to my son.
It sounds crazy to think the fox would come out on the pathway again, for sure he has seen us much earlier than I discovered him.
But in this moment I wished and hoped so much to see him I hardly dared to breath.
Surprisingly the fox really should not have noticed us before, so he turned back to the pathway and began strolling toward us like daydreaming - focused on the waiting meal behind the marsh grass perhaps?
Just imagine yourself squatting on the side of a path and a fox no more than about 50 meters away is coming up to you and does not seem to notice you!

42AEFD0F-4E53-48CE-93AC-028AE2ADDE26.jpeg

F8BE12B3-B013-40EC-915C-4E5B376EE3B9.jpeg

E3F7A69B-908C-431D-8674-A950FBFE27D5.jpeg

Click click click - both my eyes opened, one looking through the seeker of my camera, the other fixed on the real fox, my finger pushed the shutter button while with my left hand I tried to focus manually, because the automatic is too slow, to freeze this unbelievable meeting and experience.

703D859A-74F1-4482-A717-7ED1B4BFF5A2.jpeg

8E405F5E-72E2-40D9-BB5B-4BD1F1A04EF6.jpeg

696FBDDB-B611-41B1-95C0-68809E226E46.jpeg

In the same moment I thought he well noticed us, two of the fishermen crossed the pathway in the background.

2FAF752F-47EE-4D79-B9EF-DB7ECB5EE490.jpeg

369C895F-4042-45AA-A973-64771A562D34.jpeg

The fox turned around, turned back again, his eyes, his body, everything telling about his sudden disaster when he realized humans behind and in front.

AC4995E2-842C-4A21-95F6-502E539CD097.jpeg

1E665E2F-1A8F-4C8B-81D9-29F47787CBBA.jpeg

ADA22D42-6B64-4B31-A33F-E286EEEDA607.jpeg

Not in panic but calmly and well considered with one last glance at us he walked toward the wetland with all the yummy geese and mallards in it.

B293B091-AB57-468F-BDBE-B39FA4C70341.jpeg

My husband, my son and I looked to each other like we had to make sure what we saw was real.
Slowly and gratefully we went back to our car, a wonderful nature experience richer we will remember for a long time.
There was no discussion about tv watching anymore the rest of our trip.

Have you had any nature experience you want to share with us? I would be glad to read about it!

(all pictures are taken by myself with a Nikon D5100 with a 70-300mm 1:4-5.6 Sigma objective)

Sort:  

Congratulations @wald.sinnen, your post has been selected by the @asapers for a resteem and a feature in our brand new curation post. Issue 94

What does this mean for you? Well first an upvote from some members of the team, we are no @curie or @ocd but who is going to be unhappy with some extra upvotes. Also each post featured in the article will receive a 10% share of the SBD generated from the curation post.

Keep up the great work and please consider supporting the @asapers with an upvote and/or a resteem on the post you feature in. Please wait seven to ten days for payout.

Your friendly @asapers

Giving back A.S.A.P

Read Me ASAP.png

P.S. What a wonderful surprise visitor you encountered, I love the images you have captured. @insideoutlet

Thank you so much for featuring @asapers!
I like your quiz @insideoutlet but will come back later to comment on it!

I love nature, it always presents interesting experiences. We have had a few fox experiences here, but the latest was a bear a couple weeks ago, and he decided to come back last night and borrow a trashcan we keep the dog food in. I found the can and lid 30 meters into the woods, with most of the food gone. I did get one really awful picture the first time it was here, it decided to prop up on the jeep, and all I had was my old cell phone. (had to adjust white balance just to see it)
20180818_022955_lzn.jpg

It is for sure not the quality of a photo but the story that stands behind. This is a great story @coinsandchains! In Austria we have less bears in the alps.
I also appreciated your butterfly post! I will come back later to comment on it!

Thanks, I've had a few run-in's with bears, more so at my old house. I had a couple where I was a bout 3 feet away from one, which is not a good feeling when you are not expecting it.

very nice post @wald.sinnen. You pictures came out wonderfully. Sounds like you had a nice day and to get to see a fox just seemed to be the icing on the cake :) .

Thank you @tryskele!
It was a wonderful day and meeting that foxy guy was really the highlight!

Who doesn't like meeting foxy guys like that?? 😁

Congrats on your happy rendezvous!

Me and my girlfriend, we developed a saying that goes 'waiting for the fox', i.e. the good moment to photograph. She is a painter and she has seen foxes during her outings near her villa. I've been there a few times but with no luck. So far...

So me in our forest - my husband saw a fox a view times, me only once and without camera. In German there is a saying „jemanden fuchsen“ translated „to fox someone“ means to play with someone and foolish him a bit - I think that‘s it what our „Homefox“ is doing with me ;)

Wald means Forest, right? Or something like that?

Congratulations @wald.sinnen! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

hmm...another nice read from you @wald.sinnen. Let me bring it to the community and let's see what would happen. wish you all the best

one more thing: you have strong enough lens to zoom in, it would be very interesting if you have zoomed in that fox.

It is zoomed in but not brilliant focused. Perhaps the camera must go through a service - it gets slower and slower. I wonder if it were more than 100 meters, because the geese up in thebsky are so close and sharp, but my husband is certain about the 50 meters distance - however the experience of the meeting is burned to my heart and sometimes a first meeting breaks a bann and will make me spot more foxes in future like my first meeting with an owl - but that‘s another long story I will tell perhaps in one of my next posts ;)

I am not sure it was the problem with the camera, but with the lens, I guess it was auto focus wasn't it?, the problem with auto focus is sometimes the focus is not at the right point. I prefer to use manual focus to auto. As long as the photo is sharp you always can crop the frame for closer look and that is still okay to get better look of the object, I am not the expert on such thing too. if you can find service center, it will better to check with the expert.

Yap, that is good idea to make in another complete post, I am preparing an article as well, I hope I can post it to night.

Will love to read it!

Congratulations @wald.sinnen! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65761.91
ETH 3385.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62