Yucca Tree and Flowers for TreeTuesday

in #nature6 years ago (edited)


Yucca3.JPG


Yucca2.JPG


This Yucca Tree is growing at the Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Garden in Dallas, TX.
They didn't have the name of it posted, but it looks like it is a West Texas Tree Yucca - Spanish Dagger.
It is about 20 feet tall.


Yucca1 (2).JPG


I grew up in El Paso, Texas where many yucca shrubs and trees were planted in people's yards and grew naturally outside the city limits.
El Paso is in the desert region of Texas.
There are 49 species and and 24 subspecies of the genus Yucca.
They grow over a large area of the Americas.


We didn't have a yucca growing in our yard, but a neighbor did.
I still remember the time a ball rolled under that low growing yucca and when I retrieved it, a branch poked my arm and it hurt so much!!
Needless to say as a kid, I didn't like them very much!!


Have you ever heard of these trees?


Have a Blessed Day!


violetmed150.jpg


April 10, 2018
All original photos taken by me on my Canon PowerShot

Sort:  

Nice flowers, makes me think of corn bananas. Thanks for sharing, hehe. I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold. You can call me Joey.

I have heard of the Yucca tree but I had no idea the flowers were so beautiful. Great macro shot. Does it produce an edible fruit? it looks like it is in the palm family.

Apparently some people eat the flowers and/or fruit, but I've never known anyone that did. Here's some more detailed info.
https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/foliage/yucca/yucca-plant-as-food.htm

Cool ... always learning something new on steemit:)

It is true that we can not approach, it preserves its beautiful flowers!
A majestic tree ...

I live in Michigan but my neighbor has a yucca growing in front of his mailbox! I never thought it could take the cold!!!

Wow, that's hard to believe! I would have thought it would die during the long cold winter!

Exactly right! At first I always thought from a distance it was fake. I will have to try to remember to take a pic of it when I go walking! Of course I will walk by it 10 times before I actually remember lol.

Ok here is the pic I promised! Plus as a bonus we have snow today! I am going to add it to my tree Tuesday post today.

P1160067.JPG

it looks like "pohon pandan" in my country. People right here usually use it to make as a mat to sale.

Interesting.

Wow, I never realized they were trees! I've seen them as shrubby little things all around Arkansas. Not sure if they grow wild, but they are definitely in landscaping around here.

I see them growing around here. Amazing trees. And the flowers are edible I heard ;)

Yes, I've heard some people like to eat them!

In the future you should be careful with this tree if you do not want to repeat the second time. Hehe

Yes, I will!

You have collected your daily Power Ups! Your posts received total upvotes worth of 3.21$.
Learn how to power up smart here!

Ooh! It's so FLUFFY...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.21
ETH 3068.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81