Pokeberry, Pokebush, Pokeroot, Pokeweeds or Poke Sallet

in #nature6 years ago


PokeBerry2.jpg

PokeBerry1.jpg


Phytolacca is a genus of perennial plants native to North America, South America and East Asia. Other names for species of Phytolacca include inkberry and ombú. The generic name is derived from the Greek word φυτόν (phyton), meaning "plant," and the Latin word lacca, a red dye. Phytolaccatoxin and phytolaccigenin are present in many species which are poisonous to mammals if not cooked properly. However, the berries are eaten by birds, which are not affected by the toxin because the small seeds with very hard outer shells remain intact in the digestive system and are eliminated whole.Source
PokeBerry3.jpg


This plant is growing behind my nextdoor neighbors fence. I have had them come up in my yard and I often wondered how they showed up in random places. Well, now I know. Birds eat the berries and eliminate the whole seeds and if they fall into good soil, then you have new plants!


Have you ever heard of or seen this plant?


Have a Blessed Day!


violetmed150.jpg


July 27, 2018
All original photos taken on my iPhone 8 Plus

Sort:  

Ah. I've got some pictures of that @violetmed which I haven't posted yet. I had no idea what it was. I've made a note of it. Thanks. 😁

You are welcome!

I am always so keen on knowing what berries are good to eat and which ones are not. I will add these one to the not list:) Thanks, Violet:):):)

Thanks for the pictures and information.

Is this the plant from the song, "Polk Salad Annie?"

Yes!! This is it! I can't believe people really eat it or used to eat it!

All over the world, humans have been very creative when they've been hungry!

You have collected your daily Power Ups! Your posts received total upvotes worth of 2.51$.
Learn how to power up smart here!

Very nice photos and interesting info on this plant. I think this plant does grow in California but I haven't seen it in my area. Nice post @violetmed

Wow it certainly means that the phytolaccigenin are edible however it would be properly cooked before it's consumed? I think we have a plant exactly like this in Africa, I can't remember it's native name, wow I didn't know it grew in the US too.
Amazing snap

I never heard of this plant but I like your story about the birds. I worried how I could explain the facts of life to my son when he was ten. He told me, "Dad, I already know all this."

@violetmed Thank you for the information on this plant it is always good to know a little more about our mother nature that good that we are being fed from the berries the birds, good article I liked very much, I delighted seeing our nature

Yep, its like my buddy had a pond dug and before you know, it had fish in it which he had nothing to do with. I can see in the old days, some of the ancients believed in spontaneous generation.

Hmm... now that one is a head scratcher!!

Very interesting information, @violetmed. As always. Around here, although the plants grow very leafy, these fruits are very poisonous. I don't know how true that fact is. I'll search. Thank you very much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94