Photo Shoot!

in #nature6 years ago (edited)


This is a Gulf Fritillary Butterfly.
I just did a post about the gulf fritillary caterpillars and talked about how they are eating all of the leaves on my passion flower.

This is a female that was laying eggs today on the ragged leaves left on the passion vine!


gulf2.jpg


About to land!


gulfsauna.jpg


Above photo has a sauna filter.


gulf3.jpg


All of the rest of these photos show the gulf fritillary butterfly resting on some frostweed.


gulf4.jpg


gulf5.jpg


If you notice, the top and bottom side of the wings have different patterns.


gulf7.jpg


gulfneo.jpg


The above photo has a neo filter.


I probably took 50 photos and several videos of this butterfly with my iPhone trying to capture some great shots and video.
I'm not trying to win any photography awards - just trying to document this beautiful butterfly!


I need to start taking a few photos with my Canon camera and then I would have better photos, even though the iPhone camera is pretty incredible.
Some of the photos, I just didn't have time to focus since the butterfly didn't sit still very long!


Have a Blessed Day!


violetmed150.jpg


July 28, 2018
All original photos taken by me on my iPhone 8 Plus

Sort:  

It is true @violetmed,

They eat and eat and eat and then become a new creation and eat more. Your butterfly posts gave me an idea. I want to share a little about summer insects in Korea. These are guys I never saw in America. I don't have a good lens but I have some big specimen so it should work. It will take me some time to put it together, but expect some cicada, camel crickets and giant beetles. ^^

Wow, that sounds very interesting! Can’t wait!

Beautiful butterfly. And such a neat chance to watch nature in action with the eggs and caterpillars :) I never have good luck catching bees or bugs or other wildlife. I have lots and lots of fuzzy bee pictures haha Thats why I post lots of flower photos, they are easier to "catch"

Yes, flowers, trees, etc. much easier to photograph! :)

Have you got caterpillars and butterflies at the same time @violetmed. I thought they came in different cycles and you only saw one or other at a time. 😊

Yes!! I’ve had female butterflies in my yard laying eggs for the last month!! So I’ve got a couple of generations in my yard. I literally have eggs, chrysalises, caterpillars and butterflies of the Gulf Fritillary butterfly all at the same time on some days! More people need to plant these Passion flower vines in my neighborhood/city!

I literally have eggs, chrysalises, caterpillars and butterflies of the Gulf Fritillary butterfly all at the same time on some days!

I had no idea this ever happened @violetmed. It's great what you learn on Steemit. 😁

We had a passion fruit at one time, in a pot, but it died after about eight years.

They are beautiful. Gotta get more passion flower plants. :-)

Yes, but they are hard to find! I’m just going to have to start some from seed if I can beg some seeds from the nature preserve!

Really beautiful. And amazing photography. I appreciate your efforts for taking such wonderful photos.
Thanks for sharing

Beautiful and good displaying the beauty of God

que buenas fotos excelente post de mucha calidad

Gracias por su cumplido.

Is it just me, or do butterflies look like they are drawn with colored pencils? Maybe that is just the motion blur. I just like the charcoal brushstroke lines on their wings.

Yes, they really do look like they could have been drawn with colored pencils... it’s quite a lovely butterfly!

I know that butterflies mimic a pattern in nature in order to be less noticeable. Often it makes me wonder just what it is meant to be a copy of. 🐓🐓

love its patterns and colors

I do too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63315.26
ETH 2668.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79