Old Texas Barn

in #nature6 years ago (edited)


Barn2.jpg

Barn1.jpg


I've been driving down this road a couple of times a week for about the last 5 months seeing this old barn and being obsessed with getting some decent pictures of it!
I took the above 2 photos today.
The next photo is of the other side of the barn taken on Feb. 1st.


Barn3 (4).JPG


There are people living on this property.
The house looks to be in good repair and I can see a newer barn farther from the road.
They have some cows and goats grazing on their property.


There is no place to pull over and park and take pictures, so I've done it all just sitting in my car with my hazard lights turned on.
Just wondering what fun stories this barn could tell us!


Have a Blessed Day!


violetmed150.jpg


May 3, 2018
All original photos taken on my iPhone 8 Plus

Sort:  

It could tell us stories of greatness of a man who desired to live alone in quietness. Having all he needs for food but goes to the market once a while to buy little things to help the health of his animals and probably their food during the period without rain.
He could be a single whom ladies has rejected because they feel he has no future or something good aside from his band or we could look at a father who has wife and children but they have gone to the market to sell some of their products.

Great story ideas! Thank you!

this time i can't flower in your post 😀😀😀. but it's ok. i just joking

I know, I almost apologized for not having flowers!
😊🌸🌺

Great picture! Great example of old houses and it is great to imagine through this picture how people lived back in the time. :)

Great shots, Violet. I love to think about the stories old places could tell too:) Thanks for sharing this piece of Americana with us:)

The old barns in our area are usually 2 stories with the animals below and hay upstairs. You need a lot of hay because the winters are so long. Our roofs have a steeper pitch too for the snow load. Just interesting how the architecture varies from place to place.

Yes, the roof would need to be steeper if we had lots and lots of snow. We typically only get 3-4 inches of snow from a snowstorm. Thank you for telling me about barns in your area!

Brrrrr looks like from the horror movies. I wouldn't go near :P

This looks like something straight out of The Walking Dead!

Sweet pic, thanks for sharing.

That is amazing @violetmed. I like the third picture because it doesn't look so dilapidated. Still a rustic barn grows a dear charm. I remember jumping off the loft into a pile of hay in Illinois when I was younger. This might have been the barn Charlotte and Wilbur met. I forgot. What grade do you sub for?

I sub Kindergarten through 6th grade these days. A long time ago I used to sub 7th and 8th graders, but they just wear me out being disrespectful...so no more. This whole week has been in 2nd grade classrooms. FYI, I never got the fun of playing in a barn - I've just heard stories!

If the walls could talk...wow, that does look like an old Texas barn! I love it!! Do you ever drive down Rock Ridge Road in Lucas/Fairview? There is a guy there who puts out two huge trailers (like the house at the midpoint of the road) at Halloween and Christmas. They are FILLED with creepy Halloween things and tons of Santas. It was a massive display and always growing every year. I just was thinking about that...it'd be a great thing to share here! ;)

Haha, that does sound funny and creepy! I'll have to look up that road - I've not seen that sight! This barn is on an old road out in Wylie. The road is a shortcut I take from the main road to a new Subdivision in Wylie called Inspiration(I'm not really Inspired by it!) Alas, it is just a huge new subdivision covering up more of the open prairie. I drive from my house to Wylie twice a week to tutor 2 students out there.

Interesting photos, for sure the old barn has its own story, which was created for many years. Something is attractive in this old barn, probably some mystery ...

Yes, a little mystery about the history - I agree!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62311.78
ETH 2418.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67