Iris - Oh Iris!

in #nature6 years ago


I photographed these beautiful Irises at the Dallas Arboretum and
Botanical Garden in early August of 2017.

I just read that the Iris got its name from the Greek word for rainbow.
Iris is a genus of species of flowering plants with attention grabbing flowers.


IMG_0225.JPG

Some people say that the name refers to the wide variety of flower colors found among the many species of these flowering plants.


I only have photos of red and yellow, but I have seen purple and many other colors of Irises in other gardens.


IMG_0224.JPG


IrisUpClose.JPG


They were looking a bit bedraggled, by the time I took these photos,
due to the daytime high temps being around 95 degrees F.


Hope you enjoy seeing these flowers, if you are in the middle of winter like I am!
Orginal photos taken by @violetmed on my Canon PowerShot.


violetmed150.jpg


January 11, 2018

Sort:  

I knew it at my country as capacho. sounds ridicuoulus but the seeds are used to make rattles know it like Maracas. good picture

That's very interesting!

At us "Irises" are in demand, it is a lot of kinds, I saw even black. Excellent photo, very beautiful flowers in the garden :)

I also love iris, such a beautiful flower and what beautiful pictures. Thanks for the air of summer you bring to us.

It is so refreshing to see flowers at any time of the day. Lovely clicks my dear

beautiful flower

Wow! Great and lovely post @violetmed!

Thanks for sharing this post.😊 💙

very beautiful-your pretty flower. really the beauty of the flower is very extraordinary. I really like your flowers

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 6.37$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58668.45
ETH 3162.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44