Bald Cypress Tree at Dallas Arboretum for TreeTuesday

in #nature6 years ago (edited)


CypressTree1 (2).jpg

CypressTree1.jpg


This area with the stones and water and this lovely tree is fairly close to the entrance of
The Dallas Aboretum and Botanical Garden.


This is a Bald Cypress Tree.
Even though many conifers are evergreen, bald cypress trees are deciduous conifers that shed their needlelike leaves in the fall. In fact, they get the name “bald” cypress because they drop their leaves so early in the season. source


CypressTree2.jpg


CypressTree3.jpg


I spent most of my day inside due to our extreme hot afternoon temperature being 103 degree F.
Believe it or not, it was around 80 degrees this morning with a slight breeze and I enjoyed a cup of coffee outside at my patio table.
The bad news is we are about to experience about 10 more 100 Degrees F plus days!


Have a Blessed Day!


violetmed150.jpg


July 17, 2018
All original photos taken by me on my iPhone 8 plus

Sort:  

I pictured most Cypress trees to be tall and strong. I really like the Cypress wood that grows in Korea. I like it so much that I paneled our whole house with it. It smells great.

That sound very nice. This tree is called a Bald Cypress I found out. Maybe there is a different variety that grows in Korea.
https://www.thetreecenter.com/cascade-falls-bald-cypress/

Thanks. I will check out the tree center link. I don't know much about trees. In Korea it Cypress trees look like this:

image.png

http://english.visitkorea.or.kr/enu/ATR/SI_EN_3_1_1_1.jsp?cid=2481924

I like the bright green color. It reminds me of a weeping willow, which I never see around here. It is quite lush. 🐓🐓

Lovely tree @violetmed. Only 90F here in California but thats hot enough. Looks like the Dallas Arboretum is very nice!

Yes, it's amazing, I am a member since my daughter lives close to it, so I visit about twice a month.

I hate being trapped indoors by this heat! We have some relief in sight..tomorrow is only supposed to get up to 80. I'll be thinking about you!

This is a gorgeous tree! 😻

Yes, I thought so!

I love those dripping sort of trees @violetmed but would never have guessed that was a cypress.

I wonder why it is called Bald since it is anything but?

I hope you can find somewhere shady with some relief from the heat today. I struggle when it approaches 80! 😊

Yes, I need to research how it got it’s name!
@gillianpearce, this link tells why it is called a Bald Cypress and I also added the information in my post now.

Great. Thank you @violetmed! 😊

what a great invention of this beautiful tree which is surrounding with their leaves lying toward earth makes its attraction of every one.Leave a up vote.

That is a pretty tree, I have never seen one before. I really like the weeping affect

What beautiful trees and area, must be so refreshign visiting there

Yes, it is! Of course it’s better in late fall, winter and spring, as far as the temp goes! 😃

@violetmed Yes that would be true the peak of summer it can get so hot there from what I understand the cooler months are no doubt nicer

You have collected your daily Power Ups! Your posts received total upvotes worth of 3.66$.
Learn how to power up smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63117.29
ETH 2601.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76