A green friends orphanage: A greenhouse.

in #nature6 years ago (edited)
About 5 months ago I arrived to Argentina, a couple of weeks after that I decided to get a plant, a cactus, to make me some company. I named him Cacnea, I know it sounds silly.. But for me, has worked pretty well. Lately I've been thinking about getting another one, plants are great for deco and actually for developing some sense of responsability, not mentioning the fact that they actually are good listeners. They just need a small quantity of water, a tiny space in your house and some sun baths. So.. Why not?

It's quite funny, I love to call greenhouses as "plants orphanages", you know.. Because they're just babies (or kids) expecting to be adopted. I decided to go to the Japanese Garden (that I'll show you later), because I was told they had this amazing greenhouse with a lot of flowers, cactus and suculents.. Oh my.. I COULDN'T DECIDE! Flowers were so pretty, yes.. I thought about getting a couple of lilies, some daisies or maybe a couple of tulips, but I don't have a balcony so I don't have much light to offer to them, which means that once again I was getting a cactus.

IMG_20180818_144918199_20180818160559543.jpg

They were like a lot of tiny friends, this is just a small part. All sizes, a lot of colors, al lot of spines.

They were all sort of cactus in here, some with some crazy spines that looked like hair, other with tiny ones, some had flowers and really weird shapes.. But they were some that looked like they were made of stones (i'm not even sure if those were real). I didn't get a succulent because I had some bad experiences in the past with that kind of plant, I don't have gardening skills, so cactus are great for me.

IMG_20180818_145020681.jpg

IMG_20180818_145029781_20180818161803759.jpg

This one looks like it's made of fluff.

IMG_20180818_145045372.jpg

These are the weird looking guys..

IMG_20180818_145255082.jpg

Stone cactus is the name the owners gave them.
Would it be accurate?

IMG_20180818_145311698.jpg

IMG_20180818_145320289.jpg

Weird shapes! Weird looks.. Weird.

Sadly for me.. The greenhouse was closing at the time I arrived, so i managed to take some photos and to look around, so I'll have enough time to think and decide which one do I like the most to get it on monday when I go back. Any help?

Photos were made using my MotoG5 s Plus.

Sort:  

Oh...
My...
God...
How could you leave empty handed??
Soo many pretty ones! Get Mammillaria like @nikv say. They are easy to grow, love loooots of sun and have cute small flowers.
The one that is so fluffy is a Mammillaria I think.
And the one above the fluffy one with purple stones. Mammillaria too I think
Take them both!! :D

Or that big green ones with ridges and no spines just white spots... They are super easy to grow too and have huuuuuge white fower :)

It just happened!!! I'm going back tomorrow and I'll get one. The fluffy ones caught my eye!

Yayyyy :D Fluffy is awesome!

I didn't use to like cactus, but then I discovered they are so easy to maintain, I've grew quite fond of them now. Mine have grown quite a bit since I got them a couple months ago
P_20180819_111012_vHDR_On.jpg

Ohhh that looks amazing! I'm not an expert, but they're so easy to grow.

Various types of cactus pot. Thanks for sharing with us.

Stone plants are are Lithops and they are succulents, not cacti. The ones below that are called Titanopsis or sheep's tongue. Get a Mamillaria cactus, they are very easy to grow

So they say they're stone cactus but they're succulents? Oh.

I'm thinking about getting the fluffy one.

All cacti are succulents but not all succulents are cacti ;)
Cacti are found in the Americas, they aren't native to Africa, which has many different kinds of succulents.

The fluffy one is a Mamillaria. Easy to grow but difficult to handle because of the little hooks

Well.. that's definitely a fact to have in mind.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=vanessapineda7
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=a-green-friends-orphanage-a-greenhouse


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Amazing how many different types of cactus it is. Nice shots.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @vanessapineda7! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by vanessapineda7 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I love the colors you captured. I took like cactus.

Congratulations @vanessapineda7! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62264.03
ETH 2431.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50