Mushroom season is finally beginning!

in #nature7 years ago

The summer is roughly halfway done here in the northern part of Europe, and this means that the mushrooms are finally starting to grow up from their mycelium. I see a few mushrooms every once in a while, but it's still far from how dense it will be in August when they will be all over the place.

I went for a walk a few days ago to check out what had begun to pop up around here, and we actually have some nice edible mushrooms growing already, as well as bilberries (Vaccinium myrtillus) and wild raspberries (Rubus idaeus).

Wild mushrooms

Cantharellus cibarius – Kopi.jpeg

Image by @valth.

Cantharellus cibarius, commonly known as chanterelle. It is a delicious mushroom that is pretty abundant here in Norway. This one was very small, but it's a good sign to see them popping up already! I only found 5-6 of these on my walk, but I'm sure they will be all over the place in a few weeks.

Cantharellus cibarius2 – Kopi.jpeg

Image by @valth.

By looking at the underside of the cap of the mushroom, we can easily see that it's in fact a C. cibarius.

Kuehneromyces mutabilis – Kopi.jpeg

Image by @valth.

This is probably the Kuehneromyces mutabilis, an edible mushroom that grows on stumps of dead trees, and they are often found on the stumps of logged pine and spruce. This mushroom was very dried out, so I did not collect it, but this is a good mushroom for cooking. If you are harvesting this, make sure it's not Galerina marginata, which can easily be mistaken for it, but that one is deadly.

Amanita regalis – Kopi.jpeg

Image by @valth.

I'm fairly certain that this one is the Amanita regalis, but I'm not 100 % sure since it's so young. This is definitely not for eating, so stay away. The poison in this is not strong enough to kill a grown person, but you will for sure be really sick if you eat it!

I also stumbled across some Leccinum versipelle and some Russula spp., but I completely forgot to take any pictures of them!

Thanks for reading

Thanks for reading my short post about the mushrooms I found the other day. I hope you enjoyed it! Feel free to leave comments below, and don't be afraid to ask any mushroom related questions, and I will try my best to answer them.

Sort:  

@valth - Thanks for the post and giving details about varieties of Mushrooms. It is good to know about mushrooms as I am no expert, but open to learn about these species. As I come from 'Western Ghats' area that is famous for tropical rain forests and also a UNESCO World Heritage Site that has abundance of biological diversity., I have seen a lot of varieties of mushroom while exploring. Never got much into it as I had heard that it is not advisible to touch or consume without knowing about it because at times some species can be poisonous.

You're welcome :) I've always wanted to visit the Western Ghats rainforest, so I'm jealous of you! That muse have been an amazing place to grow up. I'm sure there are lots of very cool mushrooms there, but they are probably not any of the same species that I know of from northern Europe.

It can absolutely be dangerous to consume the wrong mushrooms; some of them will kill grown adults in a few days, with no antidote available. However, most are fine to touch, but it is advised to wash your hands before eating or touching your face.

Thank you very much for the comment by the way!

Such cool pics

Thank you! :)

Really interesting thanks. I am looking forward to next month when they come out in force. I'll try and post

No problem. That makes two of us!

hi, follow me and vote me please////

Informative post

Thanks, I'm glad you found it informative :)

@valth got you a $1.32 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@valth got you a $1.32 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

Waaoo i dont see this type of mushrooms before, thanks for share buddy :)

I am from East! people here love mushrooms. I am glad to hear that Western people also love cooking mushrooms.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63968.82
ETH 2633.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84