Sunset on the Ice and a walk through the frozen forest: Today through my lens (#1)

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

Hello and welcome to the first edition of "Today through my lens", a daily photographic blog capturing the different scenes and smiles of the day, every day.

In today's edition, we follow a spontaneous road trip to explore some of the frozen forests and fields of the Canadian country side near Ottawa, Canada ending with a spectacular sunset over icy plains. Make sure to let me know which photo is your favorite so that I can improve this series for you! Enjoy...

Our adventure took us east of Ottawa (where I live) into a large flat rural agricultural area deep inside the Ottawa Valley. There, we pulled off into the beautiful Larose Forest for a walk through the snow. Many decades ago, the area of this forest was completely bare and without trees due to over farming and poor soil quality. However, through one of the first successful forest planting schemes in Canada, more than 18 million trees were planted over three generations to create this stunning 10,700 hectare forest that exists there today.

The striking colors of the light blue sky, white snow and green tree line allowed for some colorful portrait opportunities. The key to this portait (left) was increasing the depth of field enough to seperate the subject from the background. This allowed for the beautiful colours in the backgroud to add contrast and life to the image while not distracting the viewer from the subject of the portrait.

As we drove back along the highway that evening, we were treated to a spectacular sunset! With few clouds on the horizon and the cold weather reducing any haze, we were able to watch as the entire sky turned bright red and the sun slowly retreated over the horizon.

After the sun had set, we turned off the highway onto a little country road for an opportunity to jump out of the car for a couple of photos over a frozen ice field. This would be the perfect end to a great day!

These were my two favourite photos from this location:

Thank you fellow Steemers for reading this far!

Tristan

Sort:  

What type of camera do you use?
On the frozen ice field, do you not regularly get snow to cover the ice?
Great post!

Hey! Thanks for the question.
I use a Fujifilm XT-2 at the moment, and this was shot on the stock 18-55 lens.
The fields usually do snow over for a while. But as soon as it gets a little warmer, the snow starts to melt, become compact, then freeze over. This is what creates the layer of ice on the fields!
Look out for more posts of the Canadian winter coming soon :)

Wow, gorgeous photography and really nice clean edits. Following right back! Go Canada go :)

Thanks Joel! Haha I just wish this side of Canada had more hills :)

Great pics, my favourites were the last two! The area you explored is not far from where I'm from, Georgian Bay. I've never walked in a new growth forest like you have though, that must be interesting!

I really love old dilapidated barns, old trees sitting solo, and sheets of ice refracting the sunset. Even though all of these things are common, they seldom are captured all together.

I'm currently following all the Canadian's I can find on Steemit, consider following me back as I'll be posting content all the time ; )

Thank you for your comment @zastels! It’s been amazing to see how many Canadians are out here! The amazing thing about this forest is just the sheer size of all the trees planted, you can really tell that this was one of Canada’s first planted forest! I read through some of your blogs and I really like your writing style and diversity of content! I look forward to reading more of your posts as they come up on my feed :)

Nice pictures men. I'm happy to grow up in this community with you.

Wow , this looks like a magical sunset! :) It is always nice to experience them rather then sitting at home!

So true, I've never been on a roadtrip and regretted it! Thank you for your comment and look out for more of my photos coming soon :)

Yes, keep it up! Outdoors can get you pretty addictive! :D

Make sure to follow back so you dont miss out on more of my photo series :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58752.84
ETH 3153.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44