Birding in Kenya. Starlings!

in #nature6 years ago

Kenya is one of the best birding destinations in the world - with over 1100 bird species found! Back in 1994 teams from world birdwatch recorded 797 species in one day with one team seeing 342 species! Isn't that amazing?
Essentially if you are interested in bird life Kenya would be a fantastic destination.
During my recent trip I did my best to record most of the lovey birds we saw and I have ended up with quite a collection. Today I will show you some of the starlings we saw. I belive we counted at least 5 species but I only managed to get decent pictures of three of them.

P4081748.jpg

P4111256.jpg

P4150678.jpg

This is the famous Superb starling and it is widespread throughout East Africa, a classic savannah bird that is very distinctive with it's metallic greens and blues. I have shared many breakfasts with these beautiful birds, we saw them everywhere we went.

P4111458.jpg

P4111450.jpg

These amazing birds are new for me, or at least one I do not recall seeing in my youth - the Wattled starling. The breeding males develope these long black wattles which combined with their sulphur yellow skin give a dramatic and unusual appearance. Like many birds in this family these guys are highly communal often associating with other species of starlings and nesting in colonies with Cape Weaver birds.

P4120321 (2).jpg

P4120327.jpg

I also had the great pleasure to see again my favourite bird in this family - the Golden Brested starling. They live in small family groups and all individuals assist in nest building and feeding the young. I think these birds look exquisite, like they are crying out to be photographed! We spotted these guys on 3 occasions in Tsavo and each time they moved on swiftly being not very keen on having much of a photo session. Maybe next time! :)

Sort:  

Awesome shots and really unusual colors!!

Thank you man. It was such a pleasure to be back amongst tropical wildlife. Amazing colours all around if you look in the right places.

Informative write-up and FANTASTIC! pictures.

Thank you very much! I'm glad you like it. :)

Beautiful bird.....

Cheers Mr. Bon's! They are :)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Amazing post! I love it. Checkout my new post: http://bit.ly/upmyvoteand and let me know if you like it :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by timspawls from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Great pictures! I lived in Kenya for several years and have seen many of these beauties! :D

Thanks Benjamin! Very cool. I used to live in Ethiopia so we would visit Kenya regularly. I try and get back whenever I can now. :)

amazing bird.. great photography @timspawls

Thanks Joseph. I'm glad you like them. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64258.81
ETH 2772.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65