Photo of the day ~ Macaroni penguin

in #nature6 years ago

My First Macaroni penguin in the South Shetland Islands. It was the last landing of the season and finally after many other of my colleagues talking about seeing this species of penguin I finally got the opportunity to see this guy waddling around a Chinstrap breeding colony.

Quite a different looking penguin to the standard brush tail species of penguins you typically encounter whilst on the Antarctic Peninsula during the summer season. Typically - Gentoo, Chinstrap & Adelie penguins are the 3 main species. This moment was what felt like another parting gift from Antarctica. I happily appreciated the quick interaction as he waddled his way up to higher ground on the island.


IMG_7895.jpg

Click image to view full size.*


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed: https://www.instagram.com/thomas_mitchell2912/

Sort:  

I'm a city dweller, I rarely see animals. Thank you!

Aww I love penguins, they are very cute.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #animalphotography

You have earned 5.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.10
Server time: 16:56:41
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 377.53/400.00
Total Photos: 39
Total comments: 11
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 0.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

it seems that I saw this penguin suffered an injury to his eyes, so it looks the pain experienced by this penguins, whether you throw or hunt this penguins?

this penguin seems to have killed himself

This penguin is great!

Nice photo. I've enjoyed following your Antarctic adventures. I've been posting as @birderguy, but am changing to a blog as @birdbanter Please follow me there. Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66254.46
ETH 3319.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69