Critters Series #1 - Alive, Dead, Alive!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

I am marveled by nature on a continual basis. But, today was over the top. I was outside yesterday and saw this little guy running along the front of my house. I was able to catch a shot of it as it took a break from scurrying about. I believe it was a juvenile eastern fence lizard (Sceloporus undulatus).

IMG_5985.JPG

It rained last night and this morning I passed by the dishes to be washed area (the whole living off-grid and no indoor plumbing thing). I immediately recognized this little guy floating in one of the pans. So sad, it must have drowned.

IMG_6041.JPG

I took it out of the water to take a look and perhaps "rescue" it, only to find it very limp and a total goner.

IMG_6042.JPG

I placed it in the palm of my hand to take a picture and for a size reference, but figured my finger would be a better idea. I got a few pictures when all of the sudden ...

IMG_6029.JPG

IMG_6052.JPG

The little squirt leaped to life and jumped off my finger all in a the blink of an eye! I looked and looked and never could find it again. I'm hoping to see it running back along the front of my house tomorrow. Oh, and I finished up all those dishes.

Sort:  

What a cutie pie he is! Glad he made it out alive!

I was so happy to have him jump off my hand and run away. I won't lie though, it startled me.

What a fabulous little lizard and a great happy ending. It was sad to think that the little thing had died but then bang he's up and running again. Love it @themerrylotus great story tip!

I was so excited that I got the before picture because he was a speedy little guy. Then when I came out and saw him belly up, I was angry with myself for leaving that pan out there. All I know is that I was shocked and thrilled to see him leap to life. I bet that'll never happen again in my lifetime. I've been on the lookout for him. I hope to be able to get an "after" picture.

Awww! You saved him @themerrylotus! 🤗
Oh mighty @originalworks bit, please bless this wonderful post with your presence.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @themerrylotus to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

Congratulations @themerrylotus! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

YAY! @themerrylotus saves the day... or at least the lizard!

We were both shocked, I can assure you, haha.

Congratulations my friend! You saved that sweet lizards life! Thank you for sharing!

I sure didn't think it was gonna turn out like that. Life continually amazes me.

(This message not a spam, please read before the flag "downvote")

Congratulations! This post will participate in "LAST USER" #7, What is LAST USER? Is a competition between 10 steemit users for the best content of their post, the best will be awarded with a post in recognition as "the champion of LAST USER", more information "CLIC HERE"

lastuser22.PNG

That's such a sweet story and you deserve a vote and I will follow you to hear about your life on the land.

I'm thrilled it pulled through. Thank you for your vote, it really does mean a lot to me.

I've never seen such as tiny lizard 😳🦎
So cute( ⁎ᵕᴗᵕ⁎ )❤︎

I'd been watching it run about off and on the whole day before and it was so fast I was super lucky to get a picture of it being still. I'd never seen such a tiny one either. So glad it lived!

Cute lil dude and I'm glad he made it. Good on you for that AND getting the dishes done!

I hate doing dishes. At least I rinse everything as I go. Seeing how I have to make a fire to heat water for washing, I only do it when I have a decent amount. For the most part they "look" clean already, lol.

Dishes are a pain. Just an idea - I saw in another post, folks (trying to remember who) were using a Solar Shower Bag because Hurricane Irma knocked out their power. I've used them on camping trips, too, for washing me and dishes. I wonder if that would be a viable option, if you have someplace sunny to hang one up? Would beat fiddling with a fire...

That's an awesome idea! Why in the world have I not thought of that myself? I do have shower bags. I guess I put them in a category. You know, like this sponge is for the bathroom and this one is for the kitchen. Never shall the two meet. I sorta feel like a dingbat, having never figured that out for myself, lol.

I know what you mean about categories... I was forced to use mine for dishes on a camping trip one year, otherwise I doubt if it would have dawned on me either. When I saw their bag and your issue with dishes, it just clicked. So glad it can help!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61227.60
ETH 3022.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88