Tree Guessing Game – The Background Story

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Tree Guessing Game – The Background Story


Since the Steem blockchain became a centralized, top-down dominated place, where control and censorship thrive, I have decided to move my content. Don't worry, though, all my posts and up and doing well on the decentralized Hive blockchain. Come and check it out!

Sort:  

I kind of miss living on the west side of Oregon because of the abundance of different trees. BUT they're there because of the rain. And I am over here, avoiding it. Hahaha love this informative post!

Once I passed through Oregon (Burns, Bend, Eugene) and the scenery just blew me away. It has a different sort of rugged feel to it. And the wind... I can't describe how humbling it was.

Why did you come through? When?? I went to Burns last year to get away from Fireworks with my dog for Independence Day. What an area. Hahah It was awful, so many locusts... My poor car...

Oooo-kay... The year was 2001 and I was on an adventure: a hitchhiking trip from Tucson, AZ to... somewhere North where it ain't so hot. After spending a week or so in and around the Grand Canyon we caught a ride from Knab, UT straight to Eugene, via the City of Rocks climbing paradise in Idaho. Eventually we went up all the way to Ashcroft, BC, then headed back South again (where it wasn't so cold). Wow... just typing this brought back memories. Now I feel like writing a post about it! Lol Too bad that was all before social networks or even digital photos.

You should! Better have pics!!

Well, you know, young whipper-snapper, back in the day we couldn't just take pictures willy-nilly of everything and anything. A film in the camera had only 32 exposures. Lots of times we just had to look at something very carefully, close our eyes, and let the image imprint itself in our brain. That's how we would create unforgettable memories...

Sorry if my grandpa impressions comes over as patronizing. (Actually I'm not that old, but enjoy getting there, hehehe.) In fact I have stacks of paper photos, stashed away some box in my mom's attic in New Zealand. In the Grand Canyon I just couldn't control myself (same goes for Cougar Hot Springs outside Eugene). I don't think I have one picture of Burns or Bend though. Only imprinted in my brain.

You know what, the fact that you said 2001, didn't even register! I get it! Heck, I am old enough to remember! Hahah. But don't think I wouldn't give you a shoulder punch in person. ;)

I'm so glad to hear. Goes to show my weird humor is still understandable.

I also love identifying trees and other plants. Loved the history you brought in about them, I didn't know most of it. Can't wait to visit Vancouver Island some day. What a lucky guy ur friend is to have gotten a piece of it!

Oh, Vancouver Island is such a gorgeous place, you have to go! And I'm planing on writing more posts about it, so stay tuned.

Following! I'm down in Victoria. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57151.22
ETH 3067.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32