I Found A Snake On The Trail This Weekend

in #nature7 years ago

My girlfriend and I went on a short hike this weekend and we stumbled across a snake on the trail! 

The trail @curiouser and I hiked was on the Potomac Heritage Trail in Loudoun County, Virginia. (Northern VA)

I accidentally stepped on the little guy. . .

Near the end of the hike I heard a scream from right behind me. Michelle was freaking out. I was clueless. I turned around to see a snake smack dab in the middle of the trail. 

I accidentally stepped on part of the snake as it blended right into the trail. 

My first reaction was to see if it was venomous or not. By the shape of its head I determined that it was likely nonvenomous although it has a similar pattern to a copperhead, which is a common venomous snake in Virginia. (most venomous snakes have triangular-shaped heads) 

I prodded the snake with a stick to get a better look and to see if I squashed it badly. As you can see by the picture, the snake was ok. 

There were some other hikers behind us who we alerted to what was going on. They had kids, so we wanted to get the snake off the trail. 

I got the snake on the end of a stick and moved it away from the trail. Once I put it down the serpent slithered off into the brush.

I am no animal expert but I think the snake was either a rat snake or a water snake. 

Had it been a copperhead, I would have pinned its head down and shown it how sharp my Gerber switchblade is.

I have no time for dangerous snakes, especially near a trail. Reptiles give me goosebumps anyways. 

FYI here is what a copperhead looks like: 

Image source   


Pictures of our hiking adventure:


Follow Michelle: @curiouser 

Follow Me: @slickwilly 


williamjohnsonlong.com

Sort:  

At a distance it did look like a pit viper, like a copperhead or some sort of rattlesnake.

You were right to conclude nonvenomous though, probably a species of water snake. Thanks for the link!

Yup, looks harmless to me as well. Thank you for not sending it to slithering heaven.

You're welcome. The snake didn't want to bother or hurt me and it likely won't harm anyone.
"Live & let live"

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of May 01. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.21 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 01 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65248.25
ETH 3471.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51