Rare Daytime Possum Carries Baby on Back!

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

I'm originally from Ohio, seeing Possum at night rummaging through trash or crawling out of sewers is a regular occurrence. I was spending the day with my husbands family, enjoying some time outside when I saw this mother Possum scurrying across the yard in broad daylight!

It was a beautiful day, sun shining brightly and quite peaceful. I imagine mom knew something I didn't and had to transport the babe on the fly. I sat and watched her run across the yard, finding shelter under the neighbors shed where it was dark. I gave up waiting after about ten minutes, expecting to see her emerge to transport more babies. It was dumb luck that I had my camera out and I'm really glad I was able to capture this rare sight.

As always I appreciate you spending time with me today. I would also like to give a warm welcome to my new followers! I hope you have a fantastic rest of your day and I look forward to seeing you tomorrow.

Did you miss my last post? Catch up here https://steemit.com/@shoogie and don't forget to give that "Upvote" button some love!

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #animalphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 23:09:08
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 67.76/100.00
Total Photos: 4
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 1
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I love how the baby hangs on by wrapping it's tail around the mother's tail. Too cute!

It was such a cool moment! I'm a sucker for baby critters haha.

Oh wow how cool. It looks like the babe is holding on for life or death. What a good catch.

It's a shame I couldn't grab some video, they scurried so fast. I'm happy to have caught it happening at all, really neat.

Wow, that is a great picture, i see them out at night all the time, but rarely during the day.

I was definitely surprised! Wish I had my better camera on me, but I'm grateful for seeing them all :) Thanks for stopping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66373.20
ETH 3291.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69