Scenes from around Marion Island

in #nature7 years ago

Hi all, I thought I would give you an idea of the awesome landscape we experience while we're doing our field work here on Marion Island (the last bus stop before Antarctica).

Just wow.



Another day at the office. Sigh. When the sun comes out, this place is heartbreakingly beautiful.




Isn't that spectacular?



The rocky beaches are breathtaking



Yes, that's a rainbow!

The shoreline is really craggy - not a place for sunbathers






We're never really alone on Marion Island

We always have seals for company

We have Antarctic and sub-Antarctic fur seals on the island.



This big fellow is an arctociphalus gazella, or Antarctic fur seal.



These are fur seals too.

And birds

![](


This magnificent Southern Giant Petrel was just stretching its wings when we passed by.



These were lesser sheathbills. There's nothing lesser about them as far as I'm concerned. They are beautiful birds.


It can get tricky walking on this terrain

This ground cover is really slippery - it's always wet from the rain and ocean water.





This looks like an easy path to walk on, but we have to watch our footing all the time. Like in life, I suppose.

See you soon, Steemians!


signature
Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Photo credits: Thando Cebekhulu (me) and Paige Potter

Sort:  

Wow, @scienceguy, these photos are spectacular! I can almost feel the sea air and hear the birds.

And the wind! Seriously, the air is so clean here.

How are bird populations going?
I hope your work brings us good news.
Be careful down there.

The bird populations here depends on a species, like for example the Gentoo penguins are doing really badly on the island when compared to King Penguins which are doing really well. Similar stories with other bird species.

And thank you - safety is always number one on our minds although sometimes we so eager to explore we end up in dangerous places but all is well.

I really love that Southern Giant Petrel - it looks like it has an enormous wingspan, maybe over 2m?

Yes, it has very long wings and that makes them awkward when they take off. They have to run first like a plane.

It’s so rugged and yet inviting at the same time. I think there must be some comfort in having the seals all around basking in the sun. Glad you wrote a new post was beginning to think you had given up before really getting started.

Hi, @mother2chicks, I've been in the field and struggling as usual with internet. I just saw your reply now. I think I will post maybe once a month. I just posted this morning, so I hope you see my new post - a lot of penguins and other birds with chicks. It's a beautiful island and although the weather is harsh for us South Africans, it's amazing hiking around the island.

And the seals are a lot of fun! Noisy :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64690.76
ETH 3423.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51