The most beautiful lenticular clouds I ever sawsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature7 years ago

Welcome to Alenya.jpg

I was in the South of France when I spotted these amazing cloud formations. They were in the sky the whole afternoon, constantly evolving in shape.

I thought of these because I posted this morning about the first time I caught a UFO on camera.

Lenticular clouds have often been mistaken for UFOs for they appear to have a solid centre, often with uniform lines.

That's why I thought to have a little fun by posting this short film you can see below :)

In truth these was no confusion. These were lenticular clouds.

Here you can see some of my iphone shots as the day progressed...

IMG_3289.jpg

IMG_3297.jpg

IMG_4889.jpg

IMG_3299.jpg

I feel blessed to have spotted these. The funny thing is that most people don't even take the time to look up so wouldn't have noticed them. As a UFO believer and photographer, I look up often :)

Sort:  

These are the best captures I've seen of lenticular clouds. KUDOS!
Pilots of powered aircraft avoid flying close to these clouds because of the turbulence of the rotor systems, but glider pilots love them out. The exact location of the rising air mass is simple to predict from the location of the clouds. "Wave lift" of this kind is often very smooth and strong, and helps gliders to soar to heights and to great distances unheard of. As of 2016 it is recorded that the gliding world records for both distance (over 3,000 km; 1,864 mi) and altitude (15,460 m; 50,721 ft) were set using the lifts. These clouds are amazing and loads of fun for gliders. Who needs a full tank of gas when you have these babies around?
Wouldn't it be fun to have a lenticular cloud chasing you all around town instead of the gloom and doom clouds that are around sometimes. WHAT A CONVERSATION PIECE that would be.
giphy (8).gif

Great response my friend. Many thanks for that. I appreciate the comment and didn't know about the cloud/glider connection until now. Next time i will be ready ;)

Thats what so great about steemians > you don't have to know everything. I knew about this because I did a post on lenticular clouds. Steemit community is always helpful too for me. We can't know everything and that's what makes the comment section so interesting.
giphy.gif

Really cute clouds! I think I can see a UFO inside one of them...

It does kinda look like that hey ;)

They look so cute and squishy!
Thank you for sharing!
Someday, you're gonna snapshot a real UFO and all those looking up to the sky will be worth it!
:)

Thanks for the comment. My pleasure sharing :)

I believe have shot a number of UFOs already. Posted about my first experience this morning. And will continue to share my other photographed experiences. I am a believer for sure!

Oh, okay, thanks! I'm currently reading your earlier post.
I'm an Ancient Aliens believer so I find your earlier post interesting.
:)

No question in my mind. We are not alone :)

I have not seen a cloud like that in years! Spectacular.

Thanks very much for your upbeat comment ;) Much appreciated.

I love lenticular clouds! the best one i saw was here a few years ago:
https://steemit.com/sky/@herverisson/lenticullar-cloud-above-sierra-nevada-spain

Very lovely in its shape. I would like to have shot a time-lapse to really see the movement. Now that would have been interesting!

Very interesting post and wonderful photos! Thank you for sharing!

My pleasure. Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment :)

really nice Clouds :)..good Job ;)

Thanks very much. Shame i didn't have my pro camera with me that day though. All of these were shot on my iphone ;)

The clouds look quite strange.....

They sure do. If i hadn't been watching them all afternoon I probably would have called them UFOs!

Ufo would also be the appropriate name for it. haha**

haha! You're not wrong there. Lenticular sounds far too scientific for something so cool looking!

Such a treat for the eyes
Thank you

My pleasure. Many thanks for the comment :)

Wow great share very heart touching scenes.

Thanks very much. Am pleased you enjoyed them :)

welcome my pleasure and joys.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65439.84
ETH 3570.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47