Termites; rebuilding after floods

in #nature8 years ago (edited)

Termites; rebuilding after floods
IMG_6072.jpg
Like I stated in my previous post on Grasshopper off the rails I visited the town of Mahikeng which is in the North West Province of South-Africa, close to the border with Botswana, last week for work purposes.

There was some flash floods caused by some heavy rains in the area. While there I found these termite mounds under construction, by the termites, repairing the damage caused by the floods.

The photo below is a view from the top, as you can see these are some deep and dark tunnels.
IMG_6063.jpg

Below is a closer view where you can see some termites, working away to repair the damage.
IMG_6075.jpg

Below is the termites close-up.
IMG_6080.jpg

Look at those jaws, perhaps we can get @papa-pepper to put his finger in there!!
IMG_6078.jpg

The work in progress, note the damp soil.
IMG_6074.jpg

Below is a diagram from the internet showing the tunnels, amazing work by these small insects.
enter image description here
Image credit

Click on the link for some Termite research information, if you would like to learn more.

The photos was taken by me, with my iPhone, except where stated other wise.

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed it.

Sort:  

The out come will be interesting.

Hi @bontonstory
Thank you for reading, nature is really very interesting.

i think instead of "but his finger in there", you meant " put his finger in there"

Hi @ace108
Yes that is what I meant, I have rectified the mistake, thank you for pointing it out

you're welcome

Ants are a really interesting insects!

Yes they are, thank you for reading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58625.96
ETH 3101.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41