Grasshopper, off the rails!!

in #nature8 years ago

Grasshopper, off the rails!!
IMG_6052.jpg

I went away for work to the town of Mahikeng in the Northwest Province of South-Africa, close to the border with Botswana. I am a Railway worker, and we were walking along the railway line, when I spotted this grasshopper. There were actually quite a few of them along the line. Just look at those colors, it is just amazing.

On the photo below you can get a better idea of where he was sitting.
IMG_6046.jpg

An adorable face that only his mother could love.
IMG_6055.jpg

The wings closer up.
IMG_6048.jpg

Some nice details.
IMG_6054.jpg

Below is a similar but not exactly the same, grasshopper which my brother photographed in the Northern Cape, in its natural habitat.
IMG_6096.jpg

The photos was taken by me, with my iPhone (except for the one above which was taken by my brother)

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed it.

Sort:  

He looks plastic at close range :)

Yes he does look plastic, but he is as real as they come. He also have a waxy type of shine.

Thank you for replying

OMG amazing, i love this kind.. btw thanks 4 u post!

Thank you for commenting.

Bit camouflage. I think not easy to spot if bit careless. So, it was a good find.

Yes when it is on plants, it is difficult to spot.

Very colourful and unusual looking creature!

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Yes it is, there are so many different types of grasshoppers and all of them looking different. These ones are not fully grown, thus they cannot fly properly, the wings still need to get longer.

Thank you for replying.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58080.30
ETH 3102.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40