Are You Connected?

in #nature6 years ago

photo by Robin Light Earth.jpg

Now, more than ever people talk about the importance ‘being connected’….but to What?


I guess that all depends on what’s important to you. For me, it’s being the very best version of myself, which means being able to live my life in a way that provides my mind, body, and spirit opportunities for growth, happiness, and adventure.

I find all of these things within myself while connecting to the Earth.

I mean think about it; the Earth gives us food, water, a place to play, a place to live, and a place to explore! It’s something we all need! But how many people can say they feel connected to the Earth?

photo by Robin Light top of Oak Creek Canyon.jpg

It seems that the more ‘advanced’ we humans become, the more we take the Earth for granted. I don’t think this is on purpose, I think it’s just that people forget how Amazing the Earth is!

Let’s take a closer look at this; many people get their water from a bottle, their food from a box, and they haven’t touched a tree or felt the grass on their bare feet since childhood. How could someone living this way possibly feel a connection to the Earth?

I honestly believe that if more people committed to spending at least an hour a week, really connecting to the Earth there would be so many positive changes worldwide that others would take notice!

photo and quote by Robin LIght.jpg

I realize not everyone is fortunate enough to live in the middle of a National Park like we do, but that doesn’t mean there aren’t plenty of ways and opportunities to connect with the Earth!


Here are some examples of how anyone can feel more connected to the Earth:

  • Take a walk near a body of water or hike a trail in the mountains. If none of these is an option, go to your local park, get barefoot if possible.
  • Sit under a tree with your back up against it; feel the calming energy emanating from it. Try listening to it.
  • Plant a small garden, grow a pot of tomatoes on your patio or get at least one indoor plant.
  • Buy as much produce as you can from a local farmers market. The food will be better for you and you will support their efforts which will bring more of these options to others.
  • BONUS: The next time you are cutting vegetables, hold one of the cut pieces up to your nose and REALLY smell it. Think about the journey it took from being a seed and all the growth along the way to finally be in your hand. Feel deep appreciation for that journey.

You see, feeling your connection to the Earth isn’t a difficult thing to do; it just may require a little conscious effort. I can promise you one thing for sure; if you make the effort you will quickly find the rewards to be SO worth it!

There are so many songs, movies, and poems that talk about ‘home’ well, our True Home is the Earth, and she sure would love for you to visit often!

photo by Robin Light Creek.jpg

I took all of these photos within 30 miles of our home

Having a strong connection to the Earth and spending time enjoying as well as appreciating her beauty and all that she provides unconditionally, fills me with a level of Peace and Joy that I truly cherish, and it is just one of the reasons why I believe that – Life is so easy!

Thank you for taking the time to read my post! If you enjoyed this ‘Enlightenment Shot’ I invite you to follow me on this thought-provoking journey as I share the things that have led me to believe that Life is So Easy!
To learn more, check out My Story
You may also enjoy these posts:
Escape the Crazy with Me!
Meet Me at the Creek
Are You Ready to Shine Like the Sun?

Official Enlightenment Shot banner.jpg

Sort:  

I agree friend @robinlight-cbd earth is the place where we live and everything we need from the earth, then we have to spend a little time to know more closely and love the earth, as you tell us we have to connect with the earth.

I like to post your friends, thank you for sharing.

Thank you @dedysteemit 😊
I believe the #steemit community attracts a lot of people who 'get this', and appreciate #nature, I look forward to connecting with many of them!
~Robin 😊 💙 🌻

I think Pledging to our Earth, Mother Gaia, is much more Important than pledging to a flag.

Support your Local Earth and watch how the Universe will change.

It is changing for sure! Evidence of this is everywhere

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60140.74
ETH 2559.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54