Mossy Trees at Natural Bridge Resort State Park

in #nature7 years ago

DSC_3807.jpg

Taken during a recent hike at Natural Bridge Resort State Park in the Red River Gorge in Kentucky. Photo taken on my Nikon D7000.

Inane Comment

Trees cover themselves with moss to keep warm during the winter. It started among more affluent groves in cold climates but then became somewhat of a fashion trend, spreading extensively. This is why we observe moss-clad trees in even very warm climates, which is an overheating hazard and one of the lesser known contributors to tropical deforestation.

Please encourage trees you know to dress appropriately. It's for their own good.

Thanks for dropping by!


Get upvotes and followers on SteemEngine: My referral link


Recent Posts

Sort:  

You have received an upvote from @livesustainably. I promote and curate content that encourages and educates others in living sustainably. You can support the live sustainably cause on Steemit by upvoting, resteeming and creating content under the tag #livesustainably.

Thank you for the upvote! I didn't exactly intend this as educational material, but I do care about sustainable living and caring for the environment, and will check out your blog.

This is the first I'm hearing of the danger moss poses to trees. It makes sense, though. I remember seeing lots of trees in Brazil covered with moss. No wonder they have a deforestation problem down there.

I know! Help spread the word

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53375.38
ETH 2393.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15