You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Pineapple

in #nature7 years ago

I've done the same, but no fruiting. In a zone 6, it had to go inside to dry heat, but growing well again. 2nd year, in a pot. I found a 'Costa Rica' variety, smaller fruit and dense Compact top. I'm interested in what the differences in habit will be. Your pic inspired me to keep trying!

Sort:  

Actually it takes more than 1 year for fruit. about 2 1/2 actually. But then the fruit gorws really fast. It's amazing becushe there is hardly anything I would consider a "plant". and this big beautirul pineapple just appears like out of nowhere. then there all these little side shoots that can be separated from the mainplant and planted to make new pineapple plants. I'm getting ready to do that now. I've heard these side shoots grow and fruit more quickly. Good luck with it,. Patience. the small pineapple when it starts form is very prickly . DO NO TOUCH IT. I learned the heard way. It's very pretty actually. Covered lots of little purple flowers. Goodluck. Keep me posted on the progress. :>)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64561.21
ETH 3418.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57