Raising Tadpoles (Day 5) - Swimmers!

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

First Day
Previous Day

Day 5


We have our first swimmers! They're about a day early for me to be ready for them thanks to my 5 gallon disappearing. In the meantime, I'll be giving them a little bit of tadpole food to hold them over for the time being. Today, they began responding to light and late yesterday, I noticed they've began to swim in a straight line (as opposed to swimming in circles like falling maple seed pods).

Yesterday, I began daily 30% water changes to keep the water clean. I recommend using a cup to avoid taking out/putting in too much water at once (even slight disturbances can send the tadpoles flying while they're this small).

One issue I'm encountering has to due with my tap water being an African Clawed Frog (AFC) owner's worse case scenario while still being safe for human consumption. My water has 0.5 ppm ammonia straight out of the tap. On top of that, it has 0 general (GH) and carbonate (KH) hardness. AFCs require hard water to thrive and like all aquarium pets, ammonia burns them; their tadpoles are even more sensitive to water conditions.

Next Day


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65668.23
ETH 2619.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65