Raising Tadpoles (Day 99) - Almost Time to Switch

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

First Day
Previous Day

Day 99

The point of swapping the tadpole and froglet tanks is drawing near. After testing today, I found that the tadpole tank's ammonia level has dropped to 0.25 ppm after being constantly 0.5 ppm for the last two months even with water changes. I'll continue to monitor the situation and decide when to switch the tanks. I'm still thinking that I'll wait until around 20 tadpoles are left but if water testing shows that I can get by with 30% water changes and maintain the tadpole tank at an ammonia level of 0.25 ppm, then I'll make a switch at that point. Regardless, it will take a few days to decide and none of this will occur while prior to bringing the first batch of froglets to the wholesaler this Saturday.

GOPR2142 - Copy.JPG

I may not bother cutting holes in the mesh lid for the filter tubes this time (trying to do that on the 10 gallon was enough for me) and will simply do what I used to on the main aquarium prior to cutting in tube holes, close the lid up to the tubes and then place a cloth on that area along with some objects to block any ready points of escape. They tend to try escaping when the water conditions are poor or if they can see an opening, correct both problems and you reduce most of your risk, particularly if you don't raise your water level too high, about 2 inches from the top of the tank works best. Regardless, for permanent tanks, it's always best to have a tightly fitting, secure lid, any gap will allow them to get through eventually. Fortunately, I haven't had an escape attempt in a little over 6 years now, thanks to switching over from back hanging filters to self-contained canister filters.

Current Totals:

14 - 5 gallon (Holding Tank)
21 - 10 gallon (Froglet Tank)
30 - 20 gallon (Tadpole Tank) [3 Near Froglets, 27 Tadpoles]
14 - 30 gallon (Main tank)

Next Day

Sort:  

Nice read. I leave an upvote for this article thumbsup

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58659.71
ETH 3164.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43