Raising Tadpoles (Day 100) - 100 Days of Tadpoles

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

First Day
Previous Day

Day 100

It's been a full 100 days since the eggs were first laid! It's truly been one amazing ride and it's not over yet. We still have 27 tadpoles left that have yet to become froglets and will take several weeks to transform. I don't know how much longer I'll be doing this, but so long as the tadpoles are still here, I'll keep updating. At the end of this, I hope to have my comprehensive African Clawed Frog Guide finished. It's be quite the experience, though I don't think I'll be doing this next year due to time constraints. If I do, it'll be a significantly smaller number, likely in the single digits.

GOPR2149 - Copy.JPG

After spending most of last night cleaning the frog food I spilled during feeding (I now get to sort trough a fourth of a pound of pellets to make sure there's nothing hidden among them), I spent today preparing for the big move tomorrow. I went ahead and moved the two largest froglets into the froglet tank and then moved the rest into my 5 gallon bucket for the time being to make sure the 5 gallon holding tank would be ready for the juvenile frogs. I placed hand towels into both the 3 gallon and 5 gallon tanks and then soaked the towels with water from the main tank and froglet tanks. The 3 gallon will hold the 14 largest juvenile frogs and the 5 gallon will hold the 23 other frogs from the 10 gallon aquarium. I've also gone ahead and filled the small spray bottle I bought with water from the 10 gallon tank. The longest part of my day tomorrow will likely be moving each of the juvenile frogs to the transport tanks early in the morning. Once I call and confirm the wholesaler is in, I'll bring them over and be down to 42 tadpoles/froglets to care for. It'll be several weeks before the next wave of froglets have grown to a size that I can bring them into the wholesaler.

GOPR2154 - Copy.JPG

Current Totals:

12 - 5 gallon (Bucket)
23 - 10 gallon (Froglet Tank)
30 - 20 gallon (Tadpole Tank) [3 Near Froglets, 27 Tadpoles]
14 - 30 gallon (Main tank)

Next Day

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59190.13
ETH 3187.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45