Trumpeter Swans

in #nature7 years ago

                      

This is a female Trumpeter Swan. You can tell by the colour of her bill. As you can see, it is black. 

Mute Swans have orange bills as you can see in the photo (below). (I took this photo in the early Spring of 2017. On this day the Mute Swans built a nest to lay some eggs. They chose a small island directly across from our back-yard, to do this.)

                    

There are other distinguishing factors (as well) that help you to tell the difference between Trumpeters and Mutes. Trumpeters are heavier. In fact, Trumpeter swans are the heaviest bird native to North America and can weigh upwards of 25+ pounds or 10+ kilograms. Trumpeters are also very shy and generally like to call uninhabited bodies of fresh water, their home. Mutes are more social and will generally build their nests in more populated areas. Mutes don't seem to be bothered by people very much.

                      

Interestingly enough, I took this photo of a Mother Trumpeter swan and her two offspring in almost the exact same geographical location as the Mute, but about 8 months apart. When baby swans are hatched in the Spring, they are called signets. They are a ball of grey downy fluff and then over the summer they grow into full-size swans. They keep their grey feathers and these feathers eventually turn white. This process (feathers turning from grey to white) can take a full year.

                      

Trumpeter swans have a very graceful neck and more of an elegant smooth slope to their bills.

                      

The Trumpeter swan's diet is almost entirely aquatic plants. They are currently foraging and feeding.

                      

They will feed in an area and once it's depleted, they simply move on.

                     

I took all these photos with my Nikon S7000.

I welcome your comments and I invite you to follow me on my journey....more often than not, we'll be just floating along on a lazy river. ;)

~ Rebecca Ryan

Sort:  

these swans rimind me of a childrenmovie I saw about a princess that turned into a swan :) thanks for the memory haha :)

Oh yeah, great photos and the swans themselves are always grandiose, especially when they float on the water. Thank you @rebeccaryan

Hi @serkagan!
This is a beautiful gif and it shows a Mother Mute swan and her baby cygnets really well.
Thanks for sharing it!

This is a gorgeous photo! Thanks for sharing it @fproductions. It gives a good idea of how big these birds can get.

thanks

This comment has received a 25.72 % upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @fproductions.

This post has received a 16.1 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @fproductions

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.

Of course, all species have differences. And from you I learned about them, but for me all the swans are beautiful. It's the most beautiful bird. No wonder so many poets compare them to perfection. Thanks for the cognitive article.

Thanks for this fantastic gif. This particular swan is showing a display of aggression. This is what they do before they attack. That was one brave photographer. LOL!

Rebecca
Very good information about the difference of the two swans.
With Steemit we can learn. And with Steemians such as yourself.
We can and will learn.
It takes time. And I thank you for taking the time to show and tell us.
You are doing your part to make Steemit very great in the future.
I did learn a lot at the MeetUp.

Francis

Hi Francis!
Are you back at your home now?
It looks like you had a good time at the Meetup.
Turkeys in the front and Swans, beavers and turtles in the back. What a life!
Never in a million years did I ever think that I would be teaching people about the creatures that @knarly327 and I cohabitant with and getting paid for it, I might add. Hahaha! Life is good, my friend.

Rebecca
Yes we are home. I am as high as a kite. Ha
Thank you for the Resteem of my post.
You are in a zoo. A wildlife zoo. It couldn't be better for you.

Francis

Thank you Francis! I am so glad that you had a good time. It's a fantastic motivator. :)

DQmNqGQBEqW8TdvRBrKNHMKb9yfSncHvi1wSWTwLFou5T2Q.gif

Thanks for the happy dancing creatures @michelhenry!

you are welcome

@rebeccaryan,
Fantastic photography and great information about Swans! I saw them before, but never got that much of details about them! Great article with amazing photography!

Cheers~

Thank you @theguruasia! There is actually 3 different species of swans in North America. The last one is called a Tundra and it looks very similar to a Trumpeter but I have never seen one in real life. ;)

This type of bird called Waz is really a beautiful landscape in the water and you are filming such a scene is really happier seeing me
Greetings to you my friend

Is "Waz" what these birds are called in Egypt @walidsalah?

Ya my my friend

@rebeccaryan - Ma'm you took cool collection of Swans photography & you described about them very nicely.... Thank you ma'm.... Nice you decided to share your experience....

+W+ [UpVoted & ReSteemed]

Thank you very much @steemwija!

cool photos :) how do you know so much about swans?

As I share life on a river system with these birds, I felt a certain obligation to learn about them and do some research. I wanted to do my part (which is mostly observin)g but I also do my best to restore and protect their habitat so that they can live in peace. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63103.76
ETH 2556.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82