Not in AlabamasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

Wait what is this white stuff falling from the sky

IMG_2306.jpg

Today has been a once in a lifetime ,( okay maybe twice) day. We never get snow in L.A. thats Lower Alabama for you people that thought I might be a big city boy.

IMG_2313.jpg

As you can see, when we do get snow, this whole place shuts down except where I work.

IMG_2312.jpg

Tried to go to lunch today, that wasn't happening, everything was closed. Even lowes and home depot closed down early. I only know this cause my boss sent me on a run to get some salt, but hell it was 2 late.

20171208_154207.jpg

Now as you can see this is really not that much snow maybe and inch or 2. But the state limit is .25 if an inch, and then its declared a national emergency.

Since 4pm I have had one customer and they wanted to talk about "black ice". Which I have now idea what they where talking about, I thought it was a scent or something.

Help me out my Canadian friends

Screenshot_20171208-172539.jpg

If any of you have one of these, it looks like I may need to borrow it for in the morning and while you are at it can you send some Mcdonalds or something, I am hungry.

Stay safe, Stay warm, and watch out for the black Ice.

It's cold
Ray

Sort:  

Buddy, yer all ready prepared for a trip to the Great White North!

Black ice is like invisible ice thats in a really thin layer on the black tarmac so its very hard to see at night especially, we haven't had snow here for 5 years but its forecast this week so hopefully my boys will get to build there first snowman :)

If not, load em up and bring them to alabama, we got enough...

We're supposed to be above freezing all weekend, and you're getting dumped on-thats weird.

But it's so pretty! I fell on black ice once. I sat heavily on my leg and broke it. Stay inside if you can!

Ouch!!! Yeah it looks like we will be open tomorrow as well. Thanks doc.

This is crazy!The weather has been really weird lately. Georgia has snow and now Alabama! What gives? I used to have a much bigger snow machine that you could have used but I sold it when I moved from my home in Canada to 3000 km south...

Ah man,,, I could have used it, you are right the weather is crazy just 2 days ago it was in the mid 60's

@raybrockman. So from the distance, it looks beautiful ande very very nice.
Of course so cold too. I like your post and upvotes.
In spite of snow, have a nice weekend.

🤣 I feel for you man! Even here in Northern Virginia when we get anything other than flurries people lose their minds like they've never seen snow before.
Black ice is when the road just looks wet but it's actually frozen and therefore ice, referred to as black ice because it's deceptive and hard to detect.
Stay safe!

Yeah, its pretty crazy, thats shocking that they freak out in N VA. I madebit to the grocery store only to find out that there was no bread, no milk, and no water, you would've thought it was the end if the world.

I think its because this area has transplants from all over the country including from areas that don't normally get snow, combined with population density it can get kind of dicey on the roads when a big storm hits!

For possibly the only time this year, you got more snow than I did. I am a Chicagoan so these Winter Wonderlandesque scenes only make me sad.

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Happy winter friend stay warm

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60063.85
ETH 2313.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46