You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Birds have no problems standing on cactus thorns.

in #nature6 years ago

You got me so intrigued with these photos, that i had to google it up, why can these birds sit on a cactus without pain. And the first obvious answer was - they've learned how to ... =)

Second answer was more detailed. They are so light that the force pushing down on the needles isn't strong and they manage to spread it on multiple needles. And the last thing that helps them is that they have zero or very little nerve endings in their feet and lower legs.

Cool photos, haven't seen Cactus wrens before! :)

Sort:  

Very good investigative work, its always best to know the reasons why the things are the way they are.
Glad you like the Wren

Yeah I am an engineer by profession and I can't help myself. I have to investigate it and get to the bottom of it :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64920.85
ETH 3459.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30