Attack of the tent caterpillars!

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

We are having a crazy tent caterpillar season here in Northern Ontario. They have literally stripped most of the trees in my yard and everyone else’s of any leaves.

I’ve been trying to keep up with spraying and removing them from my fruit trees but seam to have lots the battle and most are leafless now :(

I only hope that there season is over soon and they leave town.

My poor daughter is terrified of her play structure with all the caterpillars living on it.

Here’s a few photos of just how bad it looks.

693BA93E-8DCC-41BE-A957-7305A91C0565.jpeg

D301C3BA-5C4F-4C65-B804-76170C8C06B7.jpeg

58956D61-7DE3-4C75-90F9-BFECCD07C9EB.jpeg

115C7179-7F84-4AE8-8D54-34EE639627B8.jpeg

92C4579C-372A-4455-9FFC-B9CEF9207E2B.jpeg

8068778A-49A7-462A-9C79-149ADCC18D31.jpeg

5E425F69-5CC8-4264-830A-2122CE62371B.jpeg

Stay far far away for the next few months!


Footer by @bearone

Sort:  

Get a pump spray bottle(or maybe even a backpack in your case!) and put some liquid dish soap, vinegar and water in(1-1-5parts ish). Then directly spray them, its mostly harmless to vegetation. In a week or two you can climb into your nearby trees and spray the clusters of them too.

Best to get rid of them before they destroy the trees and feed and even larger nests.

Id try what what @edthecanadian suggests.

Yeah I’m using a backpack sprayer with soap, oil and water, it seams to be working on them but I can’t keep up. I could always try the vinger instead too.

Just looking at them makes me itchy! We have something similar here in Australia. We call them itchy grubs and they live in like brown sacks in trees.

I hope your not stuck with this many!

Ah man, that's crazy! I've never seen anything like that before!

It’s nasty! I remember it this bad once when I was a kid too.

omg..never seen such a thing. even one or two makes us feeling bad. you are living with thousands of them.i cant imagine.let them bless you after they become butterflies(?)

I think they turn into so sort of nasty moths if I rememer correctly.

We are starting to get clumps of them in my area too.

DJK39901.jpg

I hope they mostly spare you, it’s crazy around here.

That's crazy, we have them down here, but I've never seen them in mass quantities.

Yeah we get a few every year but this is totally nuts!

this is a great post!! and thanks for you past support...(my latest might be of interest.

Your poor daughter. That's a true invasion. I think I would go at them with a broom, day and night. I hope it ends soon.

Congratulations, Your content have been chosen as ''The Most Jumbo Posts of the Day''Your article have been upvoted by Jumbot and Jumbot's curation trail. Jumbot is a set up to support original content creators...

For more information about Jumbot HERE

Thanks for the mention, the damn caterpillars are over the top around here.

vfV8tqf.gif
You just got splashed by @rewards-pool. For more information on delegating to the @rewards-pool click the following link.
https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@rewards-pool/introduction-to-rewards-pool
@rewards-pool where a small delegation can get you a big splash.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57791.14
ETH 2962.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67