WHY I LIKE TO PINCH CATERPILLARS IN THE BUTT (DON'T JUDGE ME)

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

This is why I like to pinch caterpillars in their butts.


Yes, you heard me right, but before you judge me, hear me out…

This particular caterpillar, although it sports the same colors as a Monarch caterpillar, happens to be from the species known as the Eastern Black Swallowtail.

Besides eventually turning into a beautiful butterfly, these caterpillars have something else incredible that they can do, which is why I like to pinch them in the butt. Check out the video.

@Papa-pepper pinching caterpillars in their butts.

WHY YOU GOTTA BE PINCHING THEM IN THE BUTTS, PAPA?

The caterpillars of the Eastern Black Swallowtail have a special defense mechanism. Hidden behind their head is an organ called a "osmeteria." This organ is usually bright orange and the caterpillars will use it when they feel threatened. Pinching them in the butt is just one way to "threaten" them.

Here is the pinch...


Here is the osmeteria...


The organ is covered in a type of chemical repellent, so if the sudden appearance of giant, orange tubercles popping out of its neck doesn't freak the predator out, then hopefully the chemicals will.

Obviously, I was having some fun here, but any wild animal can be dangerous. It is important to know what you dealing with, even if you just want to pinch a wild creature in the butt.

You never know what'll pop out!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-eastern-black-swallowtail-caterpillar



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

I did not expect that i'd actually find this interesting but the title "Why I like to pinch caterpillars in the butt don't judge me" grabbed my attention and YES it was in fact quite entertaining, and informative!

That's pretty awesome, did you discover this about them on your own or read about it somewhere and decide to go play a bit?

Figured it out a few years back, then researched later.

haha that's awesome, keep it up brother!

Glad you liked the title too!

does the chemicals of its omesteria harmful in case it touches our skin ?

Great post! ^^

and stop killing me on steempocalipse LoL

Don't think so, we just wash it off.

Loving your caterpillar adventures. This one is a real beauty! And that headwaters! Wow.

Thanks. I thought it was pretty cool!

Um...@papa-pepper, why do you have remnants of pink fingernail polish on your fingers?
Ha ha ha ha.... cool post. Me like. ☺

I had help from the @little-peppers for the photo shoot.

Ha ha ha...very cool! ♥ Love it!

←Following you now→


I am new to the community and decided to take a look at trending to get an idea of what Steemit was like. So I see this title about pinching a caterpillar in the butt and it was actually very educational. Thanks

Now @papa-pepper...your post on pinching caterpillars reminds me of my 4 brothers who had pets ranging from rabbits to snakes, terrorised me constantly with all the creatures :) A fully grown rabbit was slaughtered once (sounds dreadful I know!), they cooked it and one brother collected every single bone and rebuilt the skeleton which was on display in a local high school's biology class for many years. The poor frogs were also terrorised but that's another story, suffice to say they had curious minds! Really enjoyed your post :):)

Cool, thanks for sharing the memories!

It's really funny when you pinch the pokemon caterpie lol

wow I learnt something today. I will go and pinch a caterpillar in the ass. I like your caterpillar adventure , cool. Thanks for sharing.

Also thanks for organising a great contest here which motivated me to write my new post relating to being depressed and how steemit will help.I mentioned you there-feel free to see it and send in your thoughts-more success

welcome

what is cool ? pinching a caterpillar in the ass ???

So elegant, I've never seen a caterpillar do that before. Thanks for sharing!

its a snail not a caterpillar lol

LOL - Suddenly a slug sticks its head out from inside the caterpillar!

Is that a cluster of carrot seeds?

We always pinch the swallowtail caterpillars.... I think a different species than this one. They eat our dill plants.

I hate to tell you, but our pinch is harder than yours...oops!

Tubercles huh?! Haha, I learned a new word!

Yes, Wild Carrot seed.

wow, did not know that a caterpillars has that kind of defense mechanism. thanks for sharing all that, and also i was going to judge you before reading the whole post... ha ha ha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25