MY BIGGEST WILD SKINK EVER!

in #nature6 years ago

This was so cool to see!


Yesterday, as I was working down on the land, something scurried through the bushes and climbed up a tree. It was obviously bigger than the Prairie Lizards we often hear, but smaller than a squirrel, so I went to investigate.

ONE BIG SKINK

Thankfully, I was quick enough to capture the beast! It was the biggest wild skink I've ever caught, and I think it is a Broadhead Skink. Although there are some larger varieties of skinks around the world, this one was pretty big for around here.

One interesting about this skink was his tail. Skinks, like some other lizards, can detach their tails when threatened. Often any attacker or predator will become distracted with the detached tail wiggling on the ground which gives the lizard time to escape with out being killed or eaten.

A new tail can regrow from where the old tail detached, but sometimes some pretty interesting things can happen. In this case, a crack in the tail must have happened without the tail fully detaching, so a new tail grew from the crack, creating a second tail! I've seen this before with Green Anoles. Pretty interesting, huh?

To actually find and catch a lizard like this was cool enough, the tail just made it even better! Also, the fact that it was on our own land was another bonus! We love seeing creatures around anyway, and the abundance of lizards here is a cool change from Wisconsin.

In typical @papa-pepper style, this big, beneficial lizard was released in the garden. It'll join in our Pest Control Posse down there! Hopefully, we'll be seeing him later!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-big-skink

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Join The @ghscollective On Discord: https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

That pest patrol possie you have got must be making your life a lot easier in the pest control business.
Given a chance, nature is a wonderful helper around the garden.

Oh yeah! We've got plenty of little helpers, and not just the @little-peppers!

waw !!!! very unique animal @papa-pepper I am very interested to see your post is hope you are in a state of always always my friend.

Thank you very much!

Dude, if I didn't know any better I'd say you live in the Amazon rain forest. I have never heard of a skink until about 3 minutes ago. I am constantly baffled at how many wild creatures are around your neck of the woods

LOL - They are out there.... and I will find them.

Cool lizard!
Shiny skin and it is really tamed in your hand.
It is like a double edge tail.
Keep on postin'

Yeah - It should probably start using a separate conditioner to prevent those split ends... LOL

This animals looking very beautiful,
whits kinds name of animals......???
and i appreciate your life.
upvote and resteemit done.

This is a Broadhead Skink I believe. It's a type of lizard.

So cool!! We have little rock lizards here, and I love seeing them. :) Never seen a skink before, thanks for the post!

Those do sound cool. They probably look closer to the Prairie Lizards around here, huh?

Yeah, but they’re much lighter colored thanks to our climate and terrain. They are small, though, I think the biggest I’ve ever seen was 4 inches long, and most of them are right around 3.

098402B0-4015-4B33-882C-08456F7B0D60.jpeg

Really cool creature! I have never seen a tail like that on a lizard. Great catch and post! ☺️

Yeah, the size of it alone was impressive. That tail was just an added bonus!

Really cool creature ☺️

Yes the lizard is very cool with its two-pronged tail. Looks like this lizard has the ability like a lizard that attached to the wall of the house, because it can release the tail to distract the predator. Incredible your findings this time @papa-pepper. Luck is always for you.

Thanks @rizasukma! It sure was a cool lizard!

Super cool! Permaculture at it's finest!! Last year we found salamanders in our garden. It was super cool!! They are about the only lizardy amphibians this far north. Have a wonderful day! 🦎

Nice! We love salamanders too, and we've got some great ones down here! One year, back in Wisconsin, we found five out of the seven native species!

Very cool!!! I take that back! I forgot about garter snakes & frog. Some pics of critters my friend caught on his property nearby.

Screenshot_20180706-122511.png

Nice! We love those guys too!

I've caught a skink that big in Florida. We had red headed skinks down there that would get that big. I believe they are the same skink. The red headed ones are just a variation.

I've seen those out in the swamps in southern Louisiana too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22