Life, in the pond - Photopraphs by @papa-pepper

in #nature8 years ago

I really can't thank steemit enough for encouraging me to share. Without the encouragement that this community has offered, I would have enjoyed all the experiences photographed below and I would have shared them with my children, but the world would have never known. A new day, new adventures, and new photographs to document it!

When I saw some of the comments about what a great photographer I am posted under some of my steemitphotochalllenge entries, I really didn't take them seriously at first. However, upon contemplation, other than buying a better camera, there is not a lot of room for improvement in some of these shots. Also, check out the Rhinoceros Beetle picture from last night or the Cicada Larva that hatched yesterday. Indeed, life is an amazing adventure, and I'm blessed to be a part of it.

Obviously, I like to enjoy a lot of time outside (which you could probably tell if you've been following me at all). I love just being out there in creation with the animals... the plants... the bugs... the dirt! As you can see from my "proof" photo at the end, I really like being out there, right in the middle of it. A lot of these animals would have been captured by hand, but not by camera, if you wasn't for you guys, so I hope that you enjoy them. My favorite is the first one below of the snapping turtle peeking out. What an image!

Behold, Life, in the pond.


proof-of-pond

Sort:  

Glad to see that it is a real pond hehe!

I like the images you capture. First the Rhino Beetle and now pond life. Great pictures, great content! Please keep them coming.

Did you see that Cicada too? That was the first time in my life I ever got to witness that!

I hadn't viewed that post yet, thanks for mentioning it. Funny that as I sit here typing, I can hear them outside raising a racket as the sun sets. Many a shell I have found over the years and watched the adults singing in our trees, but I have never once witnessed the adult emerging. You were definitely lucky to be there to capture it. Thanks for sharing the experience.

Yeah, same here. I've found a lot of shells, a lot of adults, and even a lot of the larvae, but this was the first one that I ever seen emerge. An amazing experience indeed, and I'm glad to be able to share it.

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 10.9 and reading ease of 48%. This puts the writing level on par with Michael Crichton and Mitt Romney.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44