HOORAY - THE FIRST SNAKE OF THE YEAR!!!

in #nature6 years ago

March is early enough for me!


For those of you who haven't followed @papa-pepper for more than six months or so, you should know ahead of time, in warmer weather I post a lot of snake posts! A lot! I like just about every animal, but reptiles and amphibians are some of my favorite. Since we just found this snake, that can only mean one thing... more are on their way!

THIS ONE IS A GREAT START TO THE YEAR

Yesterday I took a walk along a stream with a few of the @little-peppers. Mostly we caught some minnows and a few frogs, but at one point we just barely caught a glimpse of something plopping into the water. I was just able to notice a quick flash of orange disappear beneath a pile of underwater leaves. "Snake!" I shouted to my little helpers and was soon feeling around under the water with both arms in the stream up to my elbows. The commotion scared the snake out and we soon saw this beautiful, long Northern Water Snake gliding along the bottom of the stream. I jumped across to the other side and was able to grab it. Late last night I tried to get some good photos of it. Here they are.

A ROUGH LIFE

If you look closely, you can see that this snake has had a rough life. First off, her left eye is glossed over. If both eyes were in this condition it would just mean that she was preparing to shed. However, it is not common to find only one eye like this. Perhaps she was struck in this eye or maybe has an infection of some sorts. I'm not sure, but I hope that it gets better for her. Also, in a few other photos, you can see a scar on her back. I'm not sure about that one either, but far too often wounds on animals like this can be caused by humans. That is one reason that I like to educate people and expose them to these creatures. This one is completely non-venomous and poses no real threat to people. Even when we found it, it tried to run away from us and I had to go in the creek after it. If you leave these creatures alone, most of the time they will do the same to you. Here are a few more of my favorite shots.

FLASH-BLOCK!

I wasn't sure how the flash would look on the shiny scales of the snake, so I tried a few photos where I blocked the flash with my other hand. They turned out kind of interesting, so I've included them here. See what you think.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-a-beautiful-northern-water-snake

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @orelmely


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Nice pic of snake.
Put that cam to good use.
Nice color too.
And the proof to sum it up.
Keep on steemin'

Yes, the snakes are staring to come out! My wife and I were recently at a resort and while walking back in the the back from the big, well manicured lawn we walked up on a large coach whip hunting in the grass just feet off the cemented side walk. I stood and watched while it hunted. After a few minutes of it hunting and us getting used to each other it found its prey. It was a rather large frog that it grabbed up and slid away with across the grass and back into the bushes. I grew up around snakes but my wife not so much so for her it was a scary thing at first but as she stood and watched it turned into a really beautiful experience for her. She started out freaked out as she thought I was too close :) to the action but ended up lookin' like a National Geographic photographer with her phone. It was pretty kool. Maybe I'll upload that vid and do a post sometime. Anyways, I enjoyed your post Papa!

The first thing i went to look out for after reading the post title was the proof photo. And behold, you were really holding the snake. Isn't it venomous @papa-pepper?

No, this one is not venomous.

wow, this is amazing and this is really great, this snake is very dangerous @papa-pepper.
you have to be careful with the name of a snake,
they can either peg or remove raccoons to protect themselves.
but this is a very beautiful photo @papa-pepper.

IMG20171122210558.jpg

IMG20171122210615.jpg

very good post :) thanks for sharing @papa-pepper

That's so scary for me but I have to admit it's a beautiful snake!

Wow! Snacks are out already...Northern water snack...I saw one in the creek the last fall here in Rogers, AR....
Saw a long 6 feet black shinny snack a year ago too in the garage. Scared the lights out of me.
Looks like you do not mind touching the snacks....I don't like getting near one.
As an early teenager, we used to sleep outside on a bale wagon on our dairy farm in MO and I could hear all night the sounds of rattle snacks close by....tooo close for comfort.

We've found a few rattlers too, but they were all pygmies.

Actually I am very afraid of snake. But the photo of you snake looks very amazing. Yes I used to see you often share pictures about reptiles like snakes. Thanks for sharing. Good luck always for you @papa-pepper.

There will be more photos of snakes coming soon enough.

I always wait for your latest posts.

Wow, snakes are killed once sighted in my country. Its only people that possess some form of magical powers that goes near any snake as we believe that they are all dangerous creature.

Here, not all snakes are dangerous, but I even pick up the dangerous ones, although I have no magical powers....

I still haven't got the courage to touch a snake let alone to hold them and make them move on my body.

Sometimes I wonder if you guys use magic to grab a snake.

I use no magic to grab a snake. Many are actually rather calm when picked up. Some are very dangerous, though, so always make sure you know what you are getting into.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62274.69
ETH 3366.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43