Helpful Herbs & Plants With a Purpose - ECHINACEA

in #nature8 years ago


Introduction


Purple Coneflower, or Echinacea, is a beautiful wildflower that has some great benefits too. I am certainly not against growing flowers just for the sake of growing flowers, and even once wrapped our entire house and garage in a three foot wide perimeter of perennials, just to bless my wife. The increase of pollinators that they brought to our yard and garden and the constant supply of flowers for floral arrangements in vases on the dining room table were certainly a reward enough, besides the amazing look of them when anyone would drive past our old house.

However, if there is something more that a flower can provide, it just makes the flower that much more valuable of a resource for my family and me. Often, the space that can be designated to plants is limited, so making wise choices about which plant goes where and for what purpose it’s planted can be very important.

Echinacea is won of those wonderful, multipurpose flowers that can be found growing in many flowerbeds and gardens, yet it is still reproducing itself quite well in the wild as well. The photos for this post were taken in two locations. Some were snapped at a beautiful homestead that was also home to some great peach tree and a wonderful flowerbed full of butterflies, cosmos, and zinnias. The other Echinacea plant was a lone flower in the ditch, surrounded by a sea of Chicory.


Uses


The plant itself has been used medicinally for at least hundreds of years. The most common use is as a preventative against colds and the flu, and is boasted to be a great herbal option for boosting the immune system. As it seems is always the case, reports vary and results are often in opposition to one another.


Differences of Opinion


The "scientific, medical community" often will publish the results from their research which concludes that many natural remedies have *no scientific proof of their effectiveness or validity. Yet, many of the organic and natural groups will testify to the "proven results" of using such plants as Echinacea. Are these just cases of a placebo effect, or is there a much deeper war being waged on our health?

Personally, I think that we would all do well to do our own research and draw our own conclusions. Whatever I mention should also be understood as my opinion on the matter based on my experience, and not as authoritative fact. So, in my opinion, I think that Echinacea is a great plant with a purpose and that it is indeed a helpful herb.

It is my current belief that Echinacea can boost the immune system, and may have other health benefits as well. I've enjoyed using it as a tea in previous years as a preventative during cold and flu season. Also, I've never had any side effects or negative reactions to it that I am aware of.


Propagation


Personally, I plan on always having some growing around the property. We had some at our old house in Wisconsin (which should still be growing there) and I've got some started down here. There is a lot of Echinacea growing wild too, but please be aware that many wildflowers are protected in many areas. For this reason I would not recommend attempting to uproot wild plants that you find. I'd just obtain some seeds and get your own patch growing.

Since it is a perennial, it should keep coming back for years to come.


To check out the previous posts in this series, please click below:


Helpful Herbs & Plants With a Purpose : MULLEIN


As always, I'm @papa-pepper, and here's the proof:


Awesome Handcrafted @papa-pepper logo kindly donated by @vlad - Thank you!

Sort:  

We love your posts for so many reasons @papa-pepper! "even once wrapped our entire house and garage in a three foot wide perimeter of perennials, just to bless my wife"--SWOON! Light & love to you & @mama-pepper!

We too have had great success with using echinacea with no negative reactions. It's an extremely beneficial plant in our experience, and its healing powers make it that much more beautiful. Mullein is another great plant we fully endorse!

As far as the medicinal benefits of plants and herbs and supplements are concerned, we have definitely encountered censorship and oppression from the mainstream norm, but we're that much more dedicated to sharing our knowledge, experience, and successes because of it! Keep up your great work, @papa-pepper!

We share about henbit today: https://steemit.com/gardening/@gardenofeden/wildcrafted-medicine-the-incredible-healing-properties-of-henbit

All I can reply to that is THANX!

There is an ayurvedic formulation called "Kalmegh" or "Kalamegha", used to boost the immune system made of this plant which in Sanskrit is called "Kariyat". In asia, as you have pointed out, it is used extensively to this day for cold's and flu's.

Excellent, thanks for the info, @norbu!

Echinacia and Vitamin C doses in the lead up to winter helps prevents colds - used it for years - Also in tea form with honey ( you never hear bees sneeze!) is also good. Never grown it, but you make it sound easy ...great article again

Once a seed grows, the plant keeps coming back every year, so eventually it becomes hard not to grow. Thanks @ladypenelope1, I always appreciate what you have to share!

great post @papa-pepper. in the place where I live echinacea does not grow in the wild, but we grew it in the garden and brewed as a tea.

With the way your wife is with the herbs that doesn't surprise me @nekromarinist. I love choosing to grow in my garden what I cannot find growing in the woods. Good choice!

This is a nice series of posts. I missed your last one.I think I have only taken supplements with Echinacea.

Yeah, I kind of try to lock myself into some series to encourage me to keep posting. Gotta do another FOOD FIGHT soon, that one was fun. They ain't no 5 hour Eiffel Tower, but they'll do.

Great looking Logo!

That was a gift from @vlad.

Pretty sweet, huh?

I've found the commercial supplements to work temporarily after taking them, but only to loose effectiveness after a while. I figured it was something to only take on a segmented ritual; once a week, twice per month, etc. Mixed into a green tea with some cayenne, lemon and honey may be super effective.

Now, the straight plant may be a different story.

Good choice with the cayenne @vegascomic.
@papa-pepper approves!

kudos for the reserved approach in making claims. There extremely few non-bs good books on plant compounds and their potential interactions to human biochemistry. One I'd recommend is Rational Phytotherapy.

I believe that we can all be mistaken or deceived, and can even choose to lie. Experiments can have variables that we may not be aware of and test results are not always conclusive.

Therefore, I find it best to offer opinion or current understanding instead of declaring "THE TRUTH" on such matter. Thank you so much for your encouragement to this approach and I appreciate your recommendation @cristi.

Oh echinacea is so good, I always drink it at the first signs of a cold and it feels like it really helps, I get a cold much less now :)

Agreed. It's nice to have around.
Thanks for sharing your thoughts on the matter.

I regularly drink the tea, its a gorgeous looking flower. I only recently started growing it

Good stuff and a beautiful plant, I agree @meesterboom.
Thanks for the comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64998.89
ETH 3514.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37