Hiking the Cliffs - Rancho Palos Verdes, CA (Day 2)

in #nature5 years ago (edited)

The Golf Course Side

Yesterday evening we headed back down to Palos Verdes to take another hike around the cliffs. Once you start on the main trail, you soon come up to a fork which follows the coast in one direction or the other.

20191021_174438.jpg

In my previous post I followed the path toward the south, but this time we headed north toward the golf course. This trail is kind of unique because there are two separate paths are divided by a hedgerow. The reason for that is so that golf carts have their own path as to not run accidentally collide with pedestrians.

20191021_174637.jpg

As you can see, this part of the trail is much, much greener than the locations that I shared with you in my previous post. I wonder how much water they go through to keep the grass looking this way. I hardly ever rains around here!

20191021_174635.jpg

In the next image, you see the pedestrian trail. You can quickly note the difference by how dry everything looks. You wouldn't even think that you were in the same part of town!

20191021_174604.jpg

The above image was taken right next to the previous image, just on the other side of the hedges.

Not Everything Looks Dead

In the last post I was sort of complaining how everything looked brown and dead around here. Well, that isn't exactly true.

20191021_174502.jpg

There are a variety of flowering plants and shrubs with bright berries growing on them. They just tend to blend in with the background of browns if you aren't looking closely.

20191021_175407.jpg

Of course those flowers were right on the path, so they were kind of hard to miss. This trail is a much more scenic route than our previous trip, but the disadvantage is that you don't get as much of a workout.

20191021_174446.jpg

This way, most everything is paved. The other trail is mostly dirt and a bit more rugged terrain. Of course, on this trail it's nature on one side, and golf course on the other.

20191021_174640.jpg

Personally, I enjoy this contrast as I'm walking along. One of the cool things about going at the hour that we do, is that we get to see the sun set here every day.

20191021_175400.jpg

Of course, it gets dark very quickly on our way back and this isn't much in the way of lighting around here, so we try not to be too late. The other problem is that there is a gate in the area where you park your car that they close in the evening. We almost got locked out last night!

Well, I hope you all enjoyed the scenery. This has become a very enjoyable part of our daily routine that I have come to look forward to every day. Have a wonderful afternoon and evening, my friends!

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

what a beautiful picture

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh wow, that looks like a really well maintained path! When I first read the title of your post I thought it was going to be in much worse condition. I don't know why, I guess I am just used to the foot paths we have here in Michigan. Most of them are just worn ground from people using them so much. Roots and rocks sticking up all over the place! Nice shots and awesome post!

I know exactly what you mean, in my hometown (Dayton, Ohio) we used to explore the trails and footpaths through the woods and such.. It can be pretty ghetto! I remember the woods behind my grandmother's house had some awesome trails, but there were beer cans, broken bottles and even rusted out car parts all over the place. A far cry from out here.

The honest truth though, is that the reason for the cleanliness is because this is in one of the richest areas of LA. They really keep things nice around these trails. I don't think it would look like this if the paths were in Hawthorne or Compton.

Haha, you are probably right. I've driven through Dayton quite a few times on my way to visit my sister when she lived outside of Lexington. I once saw a cop hiding behind his door with a gun drawn on a guy he pulled over along the expressway in Dayton. 😄

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah, right.. 75 goes through Dayton, and through Lexington from what I remember.

Yeah, not surprised about the cop thing. It can get pretty rough, especially on the West side. Even the East side has gotten bad from what I hear from family. Lots of crack and meth heads

That is too bad. Yep, good old I 75!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi, @nuthman!

You just got a 3.84% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Quite a good place to bring a pellet gun and maybe hit some small game that you will encounter roaming it Sir @nuthman :P

Well, there are definitely plenty of rabbits out there. Dozens of them! They a very friendly and used to people. I think if I were homeless I'd know where to get food. lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85