How I make a mini terrarium with almost zero cost

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone!

You must have been seeing a lot of terrarium wherever you go these days. This is because the 176 years old gardening trend is back again!

In 1842, botanist Nathaniel Bagshaw Ward accidentally left one of his insect observation jars unattended. Few days later, a fern spore in the jar grew and germinated into a plant. Inspired by this incident, he then started nurturing plants in a sealed container with positive results. His experiment has proven that plants can be sealed in without ventilation and continue thriving.

DIY Terrarium.jpg
Terrarium and I.jpg

If you love to keep a little tropical paradise indoor yet unsure about how to take care of it - terrarium is your calling!

In order to make sure a terrarium stays healthy with minimal care, we will need to collect plants that naturally thrive without much sunlight and nutrients, such as moss, ferns and any small plants found in the shaded forest floor. These plants do not loss much moisture, so the closed terrarium can stay alive and healthy for months with almost no maintenance.

If we have anything to do, now is always the best time to do it.

Once I decided to make a terrarium, I immediately get out of my house and spend some time walking by the roadside and observing the plants along the road. The secret is, you don’t need special terrarium supplies or kits to create a little living paradise in a glass jar. All you need is a walk in the woods and the nature will give you all the treasures needed!

Walk in the woods.jpg

That's right! My 15 minutes morning walk resulted in the following findings:

  1. Moss
  2. Fern leaves
  3. Stone
  4. Soil
  5. Twigs & barks
  6. Other small plants (optional)

Plant Material for Terrarium.jpg

You will also need a clear glass jar for this terrarium project. Jam jar, glass bottle, honey jar are among the glass container that you can use. I happened to have a glass jar from Ikea laying in my office, so I decided to make use of it!

Glass Jar.jpg

First
Add a layer of soil in the glass jar.

Adding Soil.jpg

Second
Add moss patches on top of the soil layer.

Adding Moss.jpg

Third
Plant the fern and other small plants in the soil. You can arrange the position until you are happy about the result.

Adding plants.jpg

Fourth
Place some stone around the plant.

Adding stone.jpg

Fifth
Add some vertical decoration such as twigs and barks.

Add twig and bark.jpg

Sixth
Spray some water to keep the soil moist. You can close the container now and place your terrarium indoor, where there is no direct sunlight.

Add moisture.jpg
Terrarium.jpg

The reason I started this project was due to an inspiration I gained from the nature.
Previous post: How nature inspired me when I was demotivated

What do you think of this DIY terrarium project? Do drop me a comment below!

If you're interested in anything about nature and craftwork, upvote my post, follow me and drop a comment below!


Follow me @natalielo

Sort:  

Hello, your post was nominated for an upvote by a fellow within the Sndbox incubator. Thanks for sharing @natalielo. Steem on :)

Thank you for your support!

Great ideas for useful housewarming gifts. I love terranium. Thanks for your post @natalielo . I can now diy my own. 😊

They make lovely gift, don't they? 😊 Never thought it can be so easy to make a terrarium. Hope to see your creation soon!

Very thorough and detailed DIY, love it!

Let's make one together! XP

This is the first time I heard about terranium. It looks so easy to do it. Thank you for sharing it.
Definitely another potential DIY project.

Thank you.

It will look very nice on your clinic desk! :)

That is for sure.
Thank you.

Cheers.

Nice one, now wait for it to grow and add more members into it :)

I am planning not to do anything about it and see if this terrarium can self sustain in long term! 😉

Ya, that will be suitable for the lazy ones like me 🤣

Same here XD

Look forward for your update on your terrarium then :)

Upvoted on behalf of @thehumanbot and it's allies for writing this great original content. Do not use bid bots for at least 1-2 days, as your post may get picked up by top curators.
Great Original Works are rewarded by top Curators, refer posts from my Step-Brother @humanbot for more details.If you like this initiative, you can follow me in SteemAuto and upvote the posts, that I upvote.
And remember to do some charity when you are rich by contributing to me. Check out my Introduction Post for more details. If you have any concerns or feedback with my way of operation, raise it with @sanmi , my operator who is freaking in Steemit chat or discord most of the time.

Great project idea!

Thanks to @sanmi, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

Thank you :)

Making a mini terrarium for practically free is not realistic! I decided to try to make a terrarium myself, but I realized that I will not succeed for this you need to pick the right idea, the right design, and if you do not know about it, it is better to buy it with Craft kits for adults, here you can find really beautiful terrariums, which can be bought for an affordable price.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67900.86
ETH 3250.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63