How nature inspired me when I was demotivated

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

Yesterday was a public holiday in Malaysia. Instead of spending time home or going to mall & restaurant, I decided to do something different - visit Forest Research Institute of Malaysia (FRIM) in Kepong.

IMG_1375.jpg

FRIM was established in year 1929. For 89 years, thousands of indigenous and exotic trees were planted in this area that was once stripped of its original forest due to agriculture and mining activities. Today, FRIM is covered with lush greenery and inhabited by a varieties of wildlife.

I arrived FRIM with @crypto3d at about 11am. We paid RM10.60 to enter the park. Foreigner ticket - RM5.30 plus car entrance fee - RM5.30 and I supposed to pay RM1.06, but they let me in for free. XD

At the tourist information counter, we learnt that the two most popular attraction spots are a jungle trek and a waterfall. However, we will need a tour guide for jungle trekking, so we went to the waterfall instead. The air around the waterfall is so fresh and relaxing!

IMG_1370.jpg

Okay, you must be thinking how nature has inspired me at this point?

To be perfectly honest, I have been quite demotivated recently. I didn't feel like doing anything. I didn't work nor I did anything to fill my free time. I have been questioning myself what I can do to make my life meaningful again.

The time when I spent in the nature is the perfect moment for me to clear my mind and regain focus. I realize the world is beautiful when I spend time outdoor - observing the wildlife, listening to water flowing as well as smelling the flowers and the leaves.

Nature, indeed, is the best healer.

I went back home after 2 hours immersing myself in the nature and the first thing I did was to recall my childhood hobby. I realized the reason I was so demotivated recently was because I am not longer doing things that I used to enjoy. I was tired of working yet I couldn't find any activities to replace my non-working time.

As a young child, I love making craft from boxes and tapes. I remembered I used to make storage box & shelf out of card board whenever I have free time. I would focus 100% on my craft work and forgot everything around me. I wonder where have my passion gone!?

IMG_1378.jpg

After visiting the botanical garden today, I suddenly have an idea! I should make a terrarium - a perfect combination of nature + craftwork! Without further ado, I took a walk outside of my house to collect some plants. The secret is, you don’t need special terrarium supplies or kits to create a little living paradise in a glass jar. A a walk outdoor will give you all the treasures you need for a simple terrarium.

Next Post: How I make a mini terrarium with almost zero cost

If you're interested in anything about nature and craftwork, follow me and drop a comment below!

Follow me @natalielo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59148.41
ETH 2526.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48