Rhinos - Defenceless giants

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

In the futile effort to reduce the plummeting numbers of Rhinos in South Africa and all over the world nature conservationists are dehorning the gentle giants.

WARNING - Not for sensitive readers

What man is doing.

We’re dehorning Rhinos so poachers won’t kill them, but they still do for the little bit of horn left under the skin. Now the 2.2 ton rhino becomes even more defenceless! The horn it had was its only means of defence.


Image Credit


Image credit

Because if we don't


Image Credit

So this is where we're at.

A few days ago a video started going around about a dehorned rhino that was killed at a waterhole by a hippopotamus. Granted hippos are probably the most volatile and dangerous land animals there are. But… What chance does a dehorned rhino have against a hippo protecting its waterhole? At least with its horn the hippo might not attack and if it does the rhino can fight back.

What gets me is that the person taking the video does nothing! At the end of the video he asks: “Wat moet ons doen?” (What must we do?) ** What kind of a question is that??!!** Agreed that nature should take its course, but not if man caused an imbalance in the first place! It’s because of poaching that man intervenes by cutting the horn off. Then surely man should continue to intervene in the effort to protect rhinos from extinction! He didn’t have to kill the hippo. He could have tranquilised it or screamed or SOMETHING other than just stand there taking the video! I would have!

The hippo pierced the rhino’s side with its tusks and the rhino drowned. The video attached is definitely not for sensitive viewers.


Video Credit

This is about as much as I can write because I’ve lost control. I’ve said this before, but I have to say it again:

  • I’m furious because these majestic animals are defenceless against the guns and knives of poachers and because we’re maiming them to save them they’ve become defenceless against other animals.
  • Rhinos are killed because of stupidity, ignorance and callous greed.
  • If the killing doesn’t stop soon, all there’ll be left are photos to show my children.
  • And now I’m crying like a baby because all I want to do is put myself between them and the poachers, if only to save one.
  • I’m crying because I feel absolutely and utterly helpless in the fight for their survival.


That's me at one of the most amazing encounters of these gentle giants


Please become part of the fight for rhinos. If you like my post, please follow me on my blog @naomi.louise

Sort:  

Rhinos with horns are beautiful without is like they lost something precious. Dehorning is not the way.

That they are, but until poachers stop killing them for their horns there's just no other choice but to dehorn.

Human who do this for rhino are who is greedy.

This is so sad, it is unbelievable

Sad and all too true @bigbear

I love the passion in your writing about this. I'm totally on your side and it's a travesty that we even have to think about this.

But there's a few things we should consider. For one, they may not have a tranquilizer, and even if they did, it would have no effect for some time. Interfering could endanger the humans themselves, depending on their situation.

They may also be bound by a non-interference policy.

But, I certainly don't want to diminish the impact of the video and the devastating consequences. All I can say is that China has been making a lot of effort to put a stop to this, banning ivory trade, cracking down on illegal trade, and the price of ivory has plummeted from $1,700 a pound to something like $500.

I don't know if it's too late or not, but there's still hope.

Oh, and, following/resteemed etc!

Thank you @mobbs. The situation with rhinos is very near to my heart.

I hear what you're saying and in part I understand. It’s just plain reckless to take on a hippo, but for me, policy went out the window when they started poaching them to near extinction. Why should rangers etc. keep a non-interference policy when poachers keep breaking the law?

You'll have to be the voice of reason with this one because I’m beyond reason.

I’m so happy that China is doing their part for ivory. Every bit helps. I just wish we can get Vietnam and Taiwan to stop paying $300 000 and up to $650 000 per kilogram for rhino horn. It’s KERATIN for Pete’s sake (like hair and hooves!) It won’t make you virile and it most definitely doesn’t cure cancer. Anyway….

I can’t believe that it’s too late. I don’t want to. We have to keep fighting and hoping.

Did not watch, but felt sorry even to read this!

Don't watch. I'm sorry I did.

I also feel very strongly about this topic and I really hope we can somewhere in the future put a stop to this.

You and me both. My daughter kept asking me why I'm crying when I wrote the post. It's just madness the way they're being killed.

I also cry when I look at photos like that and I cannot believe that people can be so heartless and that just for money.

I also feel sad and cry at times when I see the slaughtered Rhino's. I wish they would just stop with this and all for money.

this is a sad topic. didnt know the dehorning issue.

Very sad indeed. I like the photo. It's so true.

This is so sad. I remember in SA there were some shops selling certain items like handcrafted jewellery to raise funds for Saving Rhinos. I used to support this cause when I lived there.

Thanks for sharing, this is really very sad!!

within a decade or less, all the remaining white & black Rhinos will have to be put not just into sanctuaries, but into small enclosures and constantly monitored by armed guards. The demand for their horn from China and elsewhere continues to increase and obviously impoverished local poachers are willing to risk their lives or face lengthy prison terms in order to score a large payday.

China is not so bad anymore. I'm told they are making a concerted effort towards clamping down on the trade of ivory (and I hope) rhino horn. Our biggest problem stems from Vietnam and Taiwan. We've now legalised the trade of rhino horn in South Africa in a last ditched effort to drive prices down and breeding up. Maybe too little too late, but giving up hope is not an option.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63764.77
ETH 3430.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53