You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rhinos - Defenceless giants

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

I love the passion in your writing about this. I'm totally on your side and it's a travesty that we even have to think about this.

But there's a few things we should consider. For one, they may not have a tranquilizer, and even if they did, it would have no effect for some time. Interfering could endanger the humans themselves, depending on their situation.

They may also be bound by a non-interference policy.

But, I certainly don't want to diminish the impact of the video and the devastating consequences. All I can say is that China has been making a lot of effort to put a stop to this, banning ivory trade, cracking down on illegal trade, and the price of ivory has plummeted from $1,700 a pound to something like $500.

I don't know if it's too late or not, but there's still hope.

Oh, and, following/resteemed etc!

Sort:  

Thank you @mobbs. The situation with rhinos is very near to my heart.

I hear what you're saying and in part I understand. It’s just plain reckless to take on a hippo, but for me, policy went out the window when they started poaching them to near extinction. Why should rangers etc. keep a non-interference policy when poachers keep breaking the law?

You'll have to be the voice of reason with this one because I’m beyond reason.

I’m so happy that China is doing their part for ivory. Every bit helps. I just wish we can get Vietnam and Taiwan to stop paying $300 000 and up to $650 000 per kilogram for rhino horn. It’s KERATIN for Pete’s sake (like hair and hooves!) It won’t make you virile and it most definitely doesn’t cure cancer. Anyway….

I can’t believe that it’s too late. I don’t want to. We have to keep fighting and hoping.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64625.84
ETH 3233.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65