On “Owning” Trees

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

C705433F-C374-4F2E-AE84-19FA9CA8731D.jpeg
(largest Sitka Spruce in the world)

I “Own” Trees

Tonight as Ini and I were eating dinner (a delicious goat stew- from those we had raised and butchered) on the porch, I looked over and noticed an especially spectacular tree I’d never truly noticed before.

73AE180A-1528-4907-9482-88B76D3D1299.jpeg

I said, is that tree “ours”? Is it on our land?

Yes, he replied.

Wow, I never want to cut that tree down. It’s so beautiful! If I were to ever cut it down a part of my soul would go with it.

Such was our conversation.
And for this reason I am happy to “own” trees- because then I get to save them. This is a tree with a majestic soul and it is older than me and older than my mom!

Who are we to cut it down?

Yes sometimes we need trees on the homestead, but it is my pleasure to be a human who chooses not to cut the oldest and biggest and best down. For they are a part of us that we can’t get back in our lifetime if we cut them down. And who are we to own them as if they’re some type of possession capable of owning. Trees own themselves and I wish for a world wherein humans were sensitive enough to know that.

I have sat in the laps of great trees. Here are my thoughts on that when I was 25 yo...

25 years, 1000 years

Like a lightening rod,
An antenna for the divine energies
Ancient beauty, powerful channel
Being around you
I remember, I see
What it is I am meant to be

In cutting down the trees, humans have done much more than clear the land. We have cut down our healing centers, we have tempered our natural connection with the divine. Hugging her for 5 minutes of precious solitude, tears come and deep knowing release, joy, plenitude, graceful thanks. May we remember, Mother, these things which are full of health and goodness! And protect them!

faces.jpg

Sort:  

I love your poetry!
I've planted seeds that are now fruit-bearing trees at home. They are like my own children, now serving me with delicious fruit in return. Mother Nature cares for us when we care for it in return. It is a neverending cycle of life and gratitude.

love, i'm happy to hear that.

like my own children,
now serving me with delicious fruit in return..

my, my, that is fantastic! beautiful words @maxen57

What compares to a tree???? I wish I knew EVERYTHING about them. Though I realize there is no 'need'....ony that I love them as you have expressed so beautifully. Do you ever dream about trees? i haven't until recently, and now I even get to spend time with them in dreamworld. IT is truly heaven.....You might like the documentary I viewed last night called Tale of A Forest.....(if there is 'TV' in your world)...if not, you always have the lap of the glorious tree which is co-owned by You & Tree. xox

<3 <3 <3 i love your perspective. how can i watch this documentary? i'll see if i can "bootleg" it on my computer as it sounds interesting (and recommended by you..).. I do not yet dream of trees, but they fill many of my waking hours.

in college i had a depressive period and trees were truly my best friends and allies. who will speak for the trees?- the lorax..

it is up to us <3

and yes, so much to know. the more i learn about forests and how each part inter-acts, the more i realize i am only a small part of our Being here XO

ooooh, then you must see if you can find it on your computer! Try just googling the name Tale of A Forest. I watched it on the Sundance Channel, but I bet it's out there because it was filmed around 2013. Let me know if you track it down...I'll keep looking.

YES....I still rely on snuggling closely with BARK, but seriously, I love to rest into them, stand with them, SMELL them, photograph them, and speak with them. When I found out there was going to be a tree removal on my street, I spent the 3 days before that letting the tree know what was going to be happening....their wisdom is so profound I felt the 'warning' would be helpful. I had to leave that day....it's just too hard. But I know to offer it to Spirit and all will be well....

How blessed that you can 'own' this wonderful tree. and isn't it such a funny feeling, knowing how small we are, and yet how large? ;) XO

PS---if you go to the post I made from yesterday, the first image (Source) is a link about the doc...you can see a trailer...and maybe a source for watching. I'm excited!

Thank you! I will let you know if I track it down easily :)

I still rely on snuggling closely with BARK, but seriously, I love to rest into them, stand with them, SMELL them, photograph them, and speak with them.

love this and love that you made such a great connection with the tree, communicating with it before it was cut down.. i know i grieve over the large scale loss of trees on our planet. gah! let's think, humans!

and yes, we don't truly own it at all! what a funny way of looking at it. but, very happy to own it in order to be able to protect <3

In my childhood we used to have a huge and old manggo tree, the oldest Granny around said in her childhood that manggo tree already that huge. but one day the government force us to sell a few part of my yard because they wanted to expand the street in front of my house. I feel so sad when they cut it down.

Ah thanks for sharing your story! Sad ending, but it is very cool that the tree was that huge when your Granny was a child. What an old tree! <3

I think this is my favorite tree.
image.jpeg

<3 OH MY <3 gorgeous... thanks for sharing!!!!

a very interesting one too! each one is so unique....that intrigues me and i find it takes time to just open to all the nuances of each tree. this tree looks ENORMOUS in the photo.

They do for sure each have their own unique and beautiful spirit. This one really is huge. Unfortunately we are going to lose it to erosion. Probably in the next 2 or 3 years. It was split in half by lightening as well. Here's the rest of it.
image.jpeg

Hello and thanks! Is this a photo in Belize? And if so, I would LOVE to read about living in Belize if you haven't already shared that. I've never visited there and nothing like a steemit tour from the insider's perspective. Wishing you a glorious day!

Indeed. This is right on the sea near the mouth of the monkey River. It seems like I must have done a Belize post at some point, but it's been a while. Probably time for another. Thanks for the suggestion! I'll let you know when it's done. Might be a few days. I need to do the meditation challenge post today. A beautiful day to you as well!!!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Wednesday.

You have earned 5.45 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.09
Server time: 01:00:37
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 102.20/200.00
Total Photos: 16
Total comments: 20
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.50 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

wow huge tree!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64188.14
ETH 2766.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66