The Grey Shrike-thrush (A Melodious Australian Songbird)

in #nature7 years ago

This is the Grey Shrike-thrush (Colluricincla harmonica). It is a beautiful singer with many and varied calls. After the three photos there is a video where they can be seen drinking from a tree hollow and also foraging under bark for insects and spiders. You will also hear one of it's beautiful calls.

( All photos, videos, and text on this blog are by @mostly.nature )

Shrike-thrush_Grey-1.jpg

Shrike-thrush_Grey-2.jpg

Shrike-thrush_Grey-3.jpg

Heres a video I took where you can hear one of these birds many and varied calls.

If you enjoyed this post, please consider upvoting, commenting , following or resteeming. Thank you!

HR

Some Recent Posts You May Have Missed

Sunshine on Water

Misty Waterfall

Camouflaged Beach Spiders

Wandle Falls - On the Edge of the Tarkine Wilderness
Sort:  

Great post on this bird. Glad to find another person posting about birds. I started following you, upvote you and resteemed!

Thanks very much. Glad to be following you too having found your blog earlier today.

I like it, thanks for sharing @mostly.nature

Beautiful! Good post

Thank you David

Beautiful post! That first shot is amazing!

Thank you. Glad you liked it.

You're welcome :)

Congratulations @mostly.nature! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Photos of this bird are extra nice. Well done!

Thanks very much. Nice to know when people like them.

I really enjoyed these shots and especially the video with vocalizations. In the first photo, the bill struck me as a resembling a shrike. In the video, the rest of the bird seemed thrushlike and the song also reminded of some thrushes I have heard. Though I do like colorful birds, I love drabber species too, especially with lovely vocalizations.

Interesting that you say it is thrush like. Obviouly the people who named it felt the same. Technically it is neither a Shrike or a Thrush :-) I wish I had more recording of their vocalisations. I'm sure you would enjoy them.

Great shots , I love that first one :) I am wanting to start taking some bird photos but have no idea what lens would work best for my Canon Rebel T1i

I use the Canon EF 400mm f/5.6 for birds. I like that its no so big that you have to always use a tripod. With practice you can take a reasonable shot hand held.

Thank you for the suggestion

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56679.48
ETH 2377.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26