Short-beaked Echidna

in #nature6 years ago

I came across this Short-beaked Echidna at a Local Reserve on the weekend. I would have liked to of taken some better shots, but when it saw me, it went into defense mode. For an Echidna, that means digging straight down into the soft earth. It's amazing how rapidly they can bury themselves.

Click on images to see a larger version
( All photos, videos, and text on this blog are by @mostly.nature)

Mammalia Monotremata Tachyglossidae Tachyglossus aculeatus Short-Beaked Echidna Trevallyn Reserve N1 2017-12-03.JPG

Mammalia Monotremata Tachyglossidae Tachyglossus aculeatus Short-Beaked Echidna Trevallyn Reserve N2 2017-12-03.JPG

If you enjoyed this post, please consider upvoting, commenting , following or resteeming. Thank you!

HR


Parasites that Prevent Caterpillars from Taking Over the World

Australian Pelicans (The Birds With the World's Longest Bills)

Tiny Little Longicorn Beetle (Just 7mm Long)

Ants - Tasmanian Inchman (Camera Shy Ant)
Sort:  

I once had one sit on my foot for a few minutes, I was walking along and saw him so I stopped about a meter away and watched him for a minute when he decided to come over and check me out, he sat on my foot for a bit then walked off, special moment I wish I had a camera with me.

Lol. That's awesome.

Thanks :)

That's pretty amazing! The best things always happen when your camera is at home :-)

Yeah it was, thanks!

You get to hang out with some of the coolest creatures on earth. I salute you sir, or madam. Whichever applies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57842.09
ETH 2895.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56