Rare Freckled Ducks Vist Tasmania

in #nature7 years ago

According to the Birdlife Australia website, the Freckled Duck Stictonetta naevosa is not present in Tasmania. In Victoria, the closest mainland state to us, they are considered an endangered species. However, occasionally, a few have made their way across the waters of the Bass Strait (About 300 KM) to the island of Tasmania. Some have even been thoughtful enough to turn up at some easily accessible sites, such as Gould's Lagoon in Hobart and Queechy Lake in Launceston.

As I was down in Hobart recently I stopped by to have a look. I was fortunate in seeing twelve Freckled ducks. I was unfortunate in that they were all sleeping or lazing about in the middle of the lagoon which is a bit on the far side for my lens. Thus the photos are quite heavily cropped and not the best quality. Still, its a record of seeing these beautiful ducks.

Naturalist, Michael Sharland, wrote of early sightings of Freckled ducks saying it is seldom recorded in Tasmania. Records he knew of, mostly from duck shooters, were of two at Bridgewater in 1925, three at Interlaken in 1925, one at Interlaken in 1936 and one at Otlands in 1972. They seem to be visiting more regularly these days. For example, based on eBird records, the first sighting at Queechy Lake, made by myself, was of a solitary Freckled duck on 30 September 2013. Since then, there are now 29 records for this site with counts of up to 116. I should point out that these ducks are not breeding here. They are simply vagrants who have flown here, possibly to escape drought or other unfavourable conditions on the mainland.

( All photos, videos, and text on this blog are by @mostly.nature )

Freckled Duck Goulds Lagoon Hobart Tas n1 2017-09-07.jpg

Freckled Duck Goulds Lagoon Hobart Tas n2 2017-09-07.jpg

Freckled Duck Goulds Lagoon Hobart Tas n3 2017-09-07.jpg

References:

  • Sharland, Michael (1980) A Guide to the Birds of Tasmania. - Drinkwater Publishing, Hobart Tasmania.
  • eBird. 2017. eBird: An online database of bird distribution and abundance [web application]. eBird, Ithaca, New York. Available: http://www.ebird.org. (Accessed: September 23rd, 2017).

If you enjoyed this post, please consider upvoting, commenting , following or resteeming. Thank you!

HR


Endemic Birds of Tasmania (10 Photos)

Jumping Spider or Groucho Marx :-)

The Curious Case of the Two Tailed Lizard

Monochrome Monday - Old Style Red Phone Boxes

Sort:  

Thank you for getting this out. @mostly.nature

wow that is really an amazing duck species ;)
nice shots you made there :)

Thanks very much. I love the little peaky crest they have on their heads :-)

yeah, makes them look really cute :)

This post recieved an upvote from therichext. If you would like to recieve upvotes from therichext on all your posts, simply FOLLOW and UPVOTE @therichext

They are absolutely beautiful and the pointy heads are great... I like you groucho marx too. lol

Thanks. Glad you enjoyed the Groucho post :-)

Beautiful Bird. Wonder if they ever head north to Queensland?

You never know your luck. Lots of sighting around Townsville in 2013. The most northerly record I can see is north-west of Cooktown on 21st June 2013.

I can only imagine the excitement when you ran across them! They're really cute!

Thanks, glad you enjoyed them. Yes they are rather cute :-) I was very happy to see them but I wish I'd got some better shots. Maybe next time. Of course if it was easy to get the perfect shot there would be no fun in trying :-)

Be grateful for getting to see them! Those shots are actually pretty good, although I do get your frustration when you want to get something right but it doesn't feel perfect to you. I hope next time you will be 100% satisfied! :)

For sure. I get a buzz from exploring wildlife. Photography is secondary. Sometime I even leave the camera at home ☺

Congratulations @mostly.nature! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hey, my name is Nadine and I am new on steemit. I would be happy if you could check out my post as well and follow back. Thank you:-)
https://steemit.com/travel/@leo-tmp/amazing-festival-in-pattaya-thailand-my-travel-diary
I really like your post. Nice!

WOW THIS PHOTO AMAZING


i just up vote you !
you can give me vote https://steemit.com/photo/@letsmakes/i-am-try-to-do-some-think-new-with-taking-pic
Follow me @letsmakes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70559.45
ETH 3816.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.45