Crested Pigeon (Four Photos)

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

This is a Crested pigeon, (Ocyphaps lophotes), which I photographed up in Rutherglen in Victoria.

( All photos, videos, and text on this blog are by @mostly.nature )

The first one is not the clearest of shots but I liked that I caught it in flight.
Crested Pigeon Rutherglen  2017-08-03.jpg

When I first spotted this Crested pigeon it was asleep on a park bench (times are hard for the birds). It woke up just as I was taking this shot.
Crested Pigeon Lake King Rutherglen  n4 2017-08-03.jpg

It then sauntered along to the end of the bench, looked down to where it's companion was foraging around and then sat watching wondering whether to jump down or go back to sleep.
Crested Pigeon Lake King Rutherglen  n3 2017-08-03.jpg

...then off it went (see first shot) down to the grass.
Crested Pigeon Lake King Rutherglen  n2 2017-08-03.jpg

If you enjoyed this post, please consider upvoting, commenting , following or resteeming. Thank you!

HR

Some Recent Posts You May Have Missed

Striated Fieldwren Photos… and a Penguin Story

Red-stemmed Wattle Flowers

SteemitPhotoChallenge -- To See Through the Eyes of Others

Brightly Coloured Fungus - The False Turkeys Tail (Stereum ostrea) ?
Sort:  

Great captures! I love the crest on these pigeons.

I Like your first shot just because the bird is in flight. It is a unique photo.

Veey pretty! I even like the flying shot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99