I Found A Possum Drinking Out of My Toilet Last Night

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

Last night was a strange night. That's all I can say. It seemed like a normal night. I was following my usual routine. I took a shower then washed all the baby bottles I'd need the next day for my daughter. I went to the bedroom and my husband and I watched an episode of Orange Is The New Black before bed.

After the episode was over I needed the bathroom. As I walked in the bathroom and kicked on the light things got weird. I swear there was a possum on my toilet getting a drink. I saw it. It saw me. We locked eyes, our faces filled with surprise at meeting one another. And then I ran!

It Looked Very Young, Small, and Kind of Cute

possum-1802326_640.jpg

I ran back to the bedroom where my husband was in bed. I stood in one spot in the doorway staring at the floor, processing what I had seen in the bathroom. My husband asked me what was wrong.

I said in a confused tone "There's a possum in the bathroom."

He immediately got up and went to the bathroom but there was nothing there. We searched everywhere for that possum but couldn't find it. I don't think I was hallucinating. I swear I saw a possum drinking out of the toilet.

I think it came in through the cat door. That's the only way for it to get in the house. My biggest fear is that after seeing me it got inside the wall of the bathroom. We have a small shelf area where we keep the toilet paper. In that area is a big hole in the wall that was there when we moved in last year. Our cats use to hide in the wall which is how we found the hole. That's where I think it is right now. It's scared and afraid to come out. I put a no kill trap in the bathroom with some cat food as bait. So far I haven't had any luck but I hope I can catch it and set it free outside.

Definitely the weirdest thing to happen to me in a long time.


follow me marx rab.jpg

Sort:  

"I Found A Possum Drinking Out of My Toilet Last Night" if I had 0.05 SP for every time I've said that I'd be a Whale.

It was the first time I've ever said it. lol. I did find a raccoon in the kitchen once. It came through the cat door too.

Epic movement😇

So Cute. I can feel one more thing in the picture. Mother careing about her baby's. So sweet so nice.

I wish mine's mother had cared enough to keep her kid out of my bathroom.

Hey, at least it wasn't Scrat...

Hope you catch the lil bugger soon!

Me too! We only have one bathroom and I'm afraid to go in there. lol

If cat food doesn't work... try a little bit of hotdog. That's how I evicted the one living in my crawlspace.

Oh, and remember, they 'freeze' when frightened. Can you give it some 'quiet time' to feel safe enough to come out? I'm sure s/he's more scared than you. ;~P

What an experience!

At least I got a good story to tell. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60930.55
ETH 2367.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48