TIL - Catatumbo lightning the everlasting storm

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

You may forget that common saying “lightning never strikes the same place twice”!!

Catatumbo lightning, or – cue dramatic roll of thunder - the “everlasting storm”, is an atmospheric phenomenon that forms in the Maracaibo Lake/Catatumbo River region in northern Venezuela, South America.


source

It refers to continuous (high frequency) lightning from a near-daily thunderstorm complex, but attendant lightning of Catacumbo isn't different from other thunderstorm complexes commonly seen in the rest of the world.

The only remarkable feature of the Catatumbo lightning is their consistent formation in the same place, night after night, and for (what many sources say is) nearly half of the nights throughout the year.

Catatumbo lightning earned a place in the Guinness Book of World Records for “highest concentration of lightning” with 250 lightning flashes per square kilometer each year ​and was announced recently by NASA as the Earth's New Lightning Hotspot

Here's a brief explanation for this atmospheric phenomenon

Curiosity

Nocturnal storms over Lake Maracaibo are so frequent that their lightning was used by Caribbean navigators in colonial times.
source

More amazing photos...


source

source

source

source

source

source

source

Here are some helpful tips if you want to learn how to Survive a Lightening Strike by @kyusho

post edited: I change two photos order

Sort:  

Thanks for this comment!! :)

Those are some pretty frightening lightening strikes....the first one looks like what I would expect in hell.

Btw - I am not seeing you on my feed - my following numbers keep coming and going so if you don't hear from me that's why. I hope they fix this glitch soon.

That photo caught my attention indeed, but it doesn't look good in the thumbnail.
I get a little scared with lightning strikes, so this place must be like hell to me. I guess I couldn't sleep there...

No me either and I love storms. I found it interesting that it's a tourist spot - when the warnings are to go indoors during a storm....and this place is apocalyptic.

So so pretty. One of those images that makes travel so enticing.

Thanks for commenting! There are a lot of information on this subject on the internet, and more videos and photos. How I never heard of it before!?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94