Aussie Bushfoods: Snottygobble ( Cassytha pubescens and friends)

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

cassytha-pubescens.jpg


Cassytha pubescens, or ‘snottygobble’. You can eat the fruit, but don’t eat too many!


There are several similar plants in the genus Cassytha, C. pubescens is the most common one where we forage. Different species have white, green or even black flowers. They all have tiny flowers and fruit that are edible though, C. pubescens is by far the tastiest.

cassytha-pubescens1.jpg

‘pubescens‘ alludes to the tiny hairs that cover the plant



These plants are twining climbers that can get to be quite a burden on the plants upon which they climb, smothering them in time.

Cassytha have small fruits that can be eaten in small amounts. If you hold the fruit in your mouth for a while while chewing it slowly, it releases quite a large amount of mucilage, hence the name ‘snottygobble’. Don’t eat too many of them though, they are quite a good laxative!


img_20170102_150817.jpg

Tiny Cassytha flowers



I like to keep one in my mouth while walking in the bush to keep my mouth from drying out, the mucilage soothes my dry mouth and also contains sugars for a little energy boost.

Of course, if you're out in the bush, don't forget to drink plenty of water.




image

You can find more great Bushfoods and Bush Medicines on our Aussie Bushfoods Index here on Steemit.

See more South Australian Bushfoods and Bush Medicines on our blog, Ligaya.

We also have a YouTube channel and a Patreon page that you might like to visit.

We're also members of the Homesteadersonline community. Click here for the invite link to join us


image

Sort:  

Oh this is good, also that you have linked other australian bishops and medicines. I always like to hear what nature can help us with.
Thank you

plenty more to come, @beulinator!

Great😊🌱🌵

The name makes good click bait! Lol!

Are they eaten when green like in the top pictures?

Clickbait indeed! Yes, eat them green or brown

Thanks for your upvote and the resteem.

Please share these very efficient circuits as it may be able to save lots of lives, especially in cold regions where heaters are much needed. Do pass by anytime for more.

Regards.

Nature is so magic! Thank you for sharing your knowledge with us. I watched your youtube videos and I really wish I was in Australia and become part of your community. Great job! Following you for sure😉

Thank you! Ill be posting much more stuff on the topic. Thanks for checking out the YouTube channel too!

You might not want to be here at the moment. Our summers are blistering! Lol

Well, I’m from Brazil and live in Florida... the heat doesn’t bother me lol but what is the best time of the year to visit? I’d love to take my son there 😊

Well you'll do fine in the tropics here by the sound of it. We're in South Australia which has very low humidity. If you go to somewhere like Queensland then summer is their wet season and winter dry. I think they're fairly warm year round. Here they usually say spring or autumn for the less extreme temperatures, but if you like it hot then try from mid January to mid February! 😊

Spring sounds good to me 🌼🌼🌼 I have some brazilians friends in Australia. I’ll find out where. Hopefully is closed to you guys. I’d love to see your Aquaponics! Thank you for your nice reply. Have a great week 😊

Thanks for sharing -I've never seen these before, do the fruits have a sour flavor?

No, very bland. A couple of types are more bitter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57889.68
ETH 2457.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40