Two Lakes Adventure Haturday

in #nature6 years ago

Today the fam and I took a day-long road trip, with more time on dirt roads than pavement.

We visited two lakes, one of which has water that looks tropical blue, so let me take you along for the ride in this post!

Adams-Lake-selfie.jpg
Yes, every day is #haturday in my world. Thanks for the fabulous tag, @saffisara!


The bumpiest road to the most beautiful spot.


We packed the 4Runner with beach-gear and headed out this morning for a two-lake, one-day road trip. The first stop was almost two hours from home, so the kids took naps in the back on the way. They woke up when we turned off the main road onto dirt.

Bump. Bump bump. Bumpbumpbumpbumpbump.

And so it went.

I kinda like off-roading, the way my body sways side to side. The way it’s easier to go over the bumps if I put my hands in the air and go, “whoop!”

At one point, we passed this waterfall, and I had to jump out and get a picture.

waterfall.jpg

hand-in-waterfall.jpg

Such clear water!

Onward we went through rutted backroads. Slowly.

But finally we got to the lake (which I’ll keep secret because it’s pristine and gorgeous, and yes, this is in BC, Canada, not some tropical island.)

green-blue-lake1.jpg

I think there’s limestone under the water. It’s crystal clear, and we’re going to come back with boats one day.

It was COLD though! I stood on a rock much of the time to keep warm and hide from the mosquitoes.

over-shoulder.jpg

After a while we packed up, and headed on the road to the next lake. This stretch was steep, going down the mountain to one of the bigger lakes in southern BC.

offroad.jpg


Another phenomenal lake!


Here’s a view of our second destination, from the road coming down. Breathtaking, being that far up the mountain and looking down to the water below.

Adams-Lake-peakaboo.jpg

The water at this lake isn’t tropical green, but I love the deep blue of big lakes. The mountains here are amazing as well.

Adams-Lake.jpg

Our expedition was a special trip for Father’s Day, and it’s nice that the boys’ dad could be here this time. (I think he’s had to work the last two years.) Here are the boys hanging out with their daddy, who is teaching them how to skip stones.

skipping-stones.JPG

The day got even better, because I brought my guitar!

This is the first time I’ve brought an instrument along in I don’t even know how many years. It was so nice to sit on the beach and strum, singing along to the lap of tiny waves.

guitar-lake.jpg

I gathered some rocks and made a little circle of them. This is a great beach for rocks! So many beautiful stones.

Rock-ring.jpg

And then, and then! I was going through my backpack, and I discovered I still hadn’t unpacked my pouch of crystals from my Tennessee trip, so I realized I had my citrine with me!

And of course it made me think of all of you, my Steem family. You were there with me today, in thought.

citrine.jpg

For those of you who don’t know why this crystal is special, I carried it around for most of the meetup in Tennessee, which was a month ago this weekend. I had a blast there, met wonderful people and laughed a ton. But the crystal represented all the friends who weren’t able to be there in person, and now the connection is amplified again. 💖

Much love to you all!

Thanks for reading!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel
All photos mine unless otherwise credited.


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steemit.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


Steemsugars

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
CLICK HERE TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES

alliance banner

Sort:  

Beautiful lakes. There's serenity in those waters! ;)

Thank you. Yes, there is! :)

You just planted 0.14 tree(s)!


Thanks to @katrina-ariel

We have planted already 3209.39 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 21493.86
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Awww, beautiful pictures.
I wished you had pressed the recording-button when playing guitar :)
Do you know about https://steemitworldmap.com ?

I really enjoyed reading your post and going along your lake trip with you. It is totally gorgeous out there and the water is sooo pretty! I really loved the waterfall and all of the pretty rocks. My daughter collects rocks so she would have had a blast out there! Thanks for sharing your trip with us~ 😊

sure looks like it was worth the bumpy roads to see such beautiful scenery

What a wonderful day and I'm blown away by the first lake... It really does look like in a tropical place but you found it near your home, that's Awsome... So beautiful 😊

And you have so many cool hats and caps, love that and they all fit you well 🎩👍😉
Amazing pictures princess and thank you for sharing your lake trip. Love the crystal to and what it represents 🤗 much love 💖🌹💖

Thanks, sweet sister! So glad I could share the journey with you. Yes, I have quite the hat collection. lol! So glad I could sorta bring you along with the crystal. 💖

What a gorgeous place, very lovely and peaceful. I am glad you had such an amazing day and thank you for bringing the crystal with you and thinking about us 💚

Thank you! Yes, it was lovely. A great family adventure. And of course, I thought of you, 'cause you're family. 💖

A breathtaking view and the lake is beautiful Do they allow fishing and camping there? Must be great to spend a night there and sleep under the stars.

Yes, that would be great! You'd have a clear view of stars, and fishing and camping are a go. Just bring a mosquito net. ;) 💖

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 11 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 13 SBD worth and should receive 94 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

What a beautiful story and day!!!! I'm so happy for you all!!!

HUGE HUGS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71152.89
ETH 3805.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49